Oh-So-Good Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2000
Just a note to the person who said cutting the mushrooms took the most time. You can quickly and evenly slice fresh mushrooms using an egg slicer. Just place the mushroom where the egg goes with the cap towards the hinge, pull down on the cutting blades and a whole mushroom is instantly sliced
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1029 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
This was a good dish. Next time I'll use less salsa. Also I should point out that the recipe calls for 2 cups of COOKED rice. If you measure out 2 cups of uncooked rice you will get about 6 cups of cooked rice. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
777 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This is one of my most popular dishes. My husband loves it. I like to crumble totilla chips, mix with some butter and sprinkle on top of casserole before putting it in to bake. It looks nicer to present and it's got some extra crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
545 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stylistmama
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I tried this with and without mushrooms, and it is definitely better WITH them! I also added a can of black beans, extra cheese, green onions, and fresh cilantro. Served it with avocado and warm tortillas - great, easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
261 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2002
This has become a favorite in our house. I like to prepare a few dishes ahead of time to use in the week or pull out of the freezer for unexpected guests - this recipe fits the bill perfectly. It is easy to make and tastes great. Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
This recipe was great...it will be a new family favorite. It is very easy to make. I made some changes to the recipe...I added black beans and some hot sauce to the mixture and also sprinkled some cheese on top 5 minutes before taking it out of the oven. I didn't use all of the rice called for in the recipe, maybe only a cup and a half instead of two and I thought that it could use just a little more salsa and maybe some diced tomatoes. It was very very good. I served it with sour cream and tostadas. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
This recipe was great! I just changed a couple things some of you may be interested in. I cooked the chicken in taco seasoning and added a can of spicy black beans,olives, taco sauce (in addition to the salsa) and crushed chips and cheese on top to make the dish look more presentable. I didn't use any mushrooms. Just delicious! My boyfriend loved it and his niece (sometimes a picky eater) liked it as well, it even got my mom's approval.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Very easy and very quick, yet it tastes "Oh so good"! I left out the mushrooms because my husband isn't a big fan of them. I put the rice on the bottom of the baking dish and seasoned some uncooked chicken with "Taco Seasoning II" from this site. I poured Ortega medium chunky salsa over top and light Mexican blend cheese (a bit more than called for). I baked it at 375 for 45 minutes since the chicken was uncooked. After it comes out of the oven I pretty it up a bit by topping it off with some sliced black olives and thin sliced green onions. The chicken is tender, juicy and delicious! It's great topped off with dollup of light sour cream - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
I have to admit that I've made serious alterations to this recipe, but it's definatly a keeper. I use pasta (shells) instead of rice because noone in my family are really fans of rice, I add more sour cream, black olives instead of mushrooms, and lots of cheese. It's not an overly pretty meal but it is VERY yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelle the Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
If I am going to rate your recipe, I am NOT going to change it and then give it a crappy review. I made this as written, using Roberto's salsa. My family loved it and thought it was delicious (the kids didn't even complain about the mushrooms which is where the so-good part comes from) I served it with black beans and tortillas on the side. DE-LISH!! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oh-So-Good Chicken

This cheesy chicken and rice casserole stars salsa, sour cream, and mushrooms.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States