Octoberfest Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
A 5 plus for moistness. Pork is my favorite food so I'm kind of an expert in preparing it. This recipe is great for those who overcook pork or say that their chops are too dry. I used bone in chops and they were very thick (1 1/2 in.) I followed the cooking time exactly and these were perfect. If you are using thin boneless chops you will need to decrease the time. The marinade did not impart much flavor so many might find it bland. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Crisp coating without the oil. Breaded all 4 pork chops but only made one for myself. I placed the remaining chops on a pan and put in the freezer. After they were froze I put in individual bags to freeze for a future meal. I could have baked all 4 and then froze them, but microwaves always seem to make coatings soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Gave this 4 stars but only because of the cooking times listed. My chops were dried out and a little tough. However..the marinade is tasty and flavorful, the panko-parmesan breading is outstanding - but the chops should be cooked for less time at a higher temp (ala shake & bake) I think 15-20 min at 425 degrees would produce juicier more tender chops. Plan to use this recipe again with these cooking times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Octoberfest beer? I had Miller Lite on hand and used it. The chops marinated for about an hour and while I thought the flavor was *great*, I also thought the beer flavor was stronger than I expected. If you don't like the taste of beer don't marinate an hour like I did. The main reason I gave only 4 stars was because the coating never crisped, never even browned, actually a little soggy. Wasn't sure if it was the eggs or maybe pat dry after removing from marinade. Otherwise, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
We didn't think the marinade went with the panko + parm coating. And the coating never crisped up in the oven - maybe pan frying would be better?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Only marinated for 30 minutes like recipie said and was recommended. I then pan fried the pork chops (after dredging them in flour, salt, pepper). Then put in scarce amount of water and cooked for 1 hour. Gravy left was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
These were great! I loved the different flavor you get, rather than the basic bbq or terriyaki marinades. I did a German themed dinner with some spaetzle and mushroom gravy. Everyone loved the chops. I made the mistake of baking them on a stone cookie sheet. The panko didn't crisp up at all - but that was my fault, not the recipe's. I will definately try these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Pretty good. I used a tenderloin cut into medallions. And I grilled it. It was really good. Flavors are subtle. I'll probably tweak it some next time to make the flavors more bold but it is a great recipe. I was a bit surprised. My kids usually drown everything in Ranch or Blue Cheese. They did not put a thing on this. Ate it as is saying it was very good. They did ask that i kick the spice level up a notch next time though. There will be a next time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I think either the temperature or the cooking time was a bit off on this one as the pork chops were a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
this recipe needs a rack when cooking. I followed the recipe directions as written. My breading stuck to the pan. A rack would have stopped that. I shortened my cooking time to 25 minutes total and had a perfectly done chop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States