October Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
I really liked this apple pie and definetly will make it again. I read some reviews where people were having problems with the caramel not melting. I think the trick is depending on what type of caramel you use. Kraft makes caramels that can be eaten as candy or used for baking. You can find them in the candy aisle inside Wal-mart. I mixed all the dry ingredients together first so that it blended evenly with the apples. It came out a little runny, but I added a little more flour to thicken it up. My guess was the lemon juice thinned it out quiet a bit. Next time, I am going to add the lemon juice to the apples, let it soak for a few minutes, drain half the excess, and then incorporate the dry mixture. Another thing, the recipe calls for 6cups of apples. I used Granny Smith and five (2.5 lbs) of them made approx 6cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Trying this recipe may have been a mistake as I've had to bake one almost every week to fill my family's requests for MORE! I use granny smith apples, so I don't decrease the sugar as some recommended and the flavor is perfect. If you use juicy apples, a little extra flour will keep the pie from getting runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
I really should give this five stars, because I was the only one who didn't care for it. And that's really just because I don't like apples. I served this to four other people and they LOVED it!! Word to the wise: Definitely stick with the caramel squares and if you can't find any, wait until you do. I tried to substitute them with caramel sauce--the kind in the jar--and althought it still tasted delicious, it was a HUGE mess to cook. I had to throw out a cookie sheet and clean out my oven (which was in awful need of a cleaning anyway, I just needed that extra push to do it! lol) because the sauce basically turned to water and spilled out of the pie. I bought two frozen extra deep pie crusts. I took one and flattened it, cut out long strips and criss-crossed them over the top. The pie looked GORGEOUS. It was like something out of a cookbook. People raved about how pretty it was almost as much as they raved about the taste. Excellent desert if you're looking to casually impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
This pie is now a favorite. Only suggestions are to reduce white sugar by 1 or 2 TBL.(caramel & 2 kinds of sugar made it overly sweet) and also reduce butter to 2 or 3 TBL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Beaver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
I just made this without the crust, baked in a 13x9" pan. My 6 year old told me it tasted like an "inside-out caramel apple." I served it over vanilla ice cream and it was a HUGE hit. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
This pie is excellent! I used Granny Smiths, decreased the sugar a bit, added extra carmels (that melted just fine). This is the pie I will take for all holidays! You must try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
This is an excellent apple pie recipe!! The only change I will do the next time I make this pie is that I will add a little more flour to the mixture...my pie came out a little runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
This pie was delicious. I did cut the white sugar to 1/4 cup, and I increased the cinnamon to 2 1/2 teaspoons because I like cinnamon. I did bake the pie about 10 minutes longer than the recipes states. Also, instead of a two crust pie I use a bottom crust and then I use an apple crisp box mix for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
I used a combination of Cortlands and Macs. Next time I'll use Granny Smiths though. I wanted more of a carmel flavor so I added a few more but I cut down on the white sugar, only 1/8 cup so it wasn't too sweet. Next time I'll leave it out all together. Everyone enjoyed it, even with a store bought crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
This was disappointing after the great reviews. I cooked it for 15 minutes longer than the recipe stated, but the apples still weren't done all the way (I did slice them thinly, too). The caramel sauce, too, was very runny, even though I let the pie set up for 4 hours before serving it. Oh well. The taste was good, even if it was a mess! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States