O'Brian's Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I make this constantly, so much so that my family has asked for a reprieve, but I will pass along my tips: Some of the bags of cubed hashbrowns they sell are no longer 2 lbs. so check carefully. I find generic to be the best. I use a 2c. bag of sharp cheddar in place of the american cheese; any cheese will work, but we prefer the sharper flavor. I too cut back on butter, it's just not necessary. I nuke the potatoes for about 10 minutes alone or thaw them in the fridge overnight for a creamier consistency. For brunches, I use O'Brien potatoes (hash browns with the potatoes and onions and peppers already added), use cream of potato instead of chicken and add a pkg of precooked bacon crumbled up. Yum, people rave over that for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
I have used this recipe for several years for a side dish at dinner or for brunch. One thing I do to make life easier is to put the sour cream, soup, cheese (cut in large chunks) and onions in the food processor and chop away. This saves the time that it would take to grate cheese and mince onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
This recipe is so simple and delicious it is insane! I have made it 3 times now and to each meal it has been perfect. It is an inexpensive, easy addition to a meal, or a quick and simple main course with a salad (vinegrette dressing would be ideal. Give it a go.. it's yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ramona620

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2002
I've used a version of this recipe for years. I generally use frozen hash browns and when in a real pinch, frozen chopped onions and pre-shredded cheese. You can mix it up and throw it in the oven while you're dressing and within the hour you're out the door to your next 'do. For a quick brunch or light dinner, add cubed ham and broccoli florets. A wonderful, family-friendly one-pan dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
I love this recipe...it's so easy. One time I was in a real hurry...I had no sour cream and I had no onions. So, instead of the sour cream, I added a can of cream of mushroom soup and mixed it in the blender with the other soup and some milk and substituted that. I also used dried onion flakes. I actually enjoyed it this way and have changed my recipe so I'll make it the same way each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2001
This was good. I agree with some of the other reviewers, that there was too much butter. There was a small lake of butter at the bottom of the dish. Just cut back a little on that and it's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Decadent and YUMMIE! How could it be bad with all the creamy buttery goodness? I can't follow a recipe so I subbed O'Brien potatoes that have onion and green pepper so I wouldn't have to cut up the onion. Also used Cheddar instead of american cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
It was very good although next time I will double the amount of corn flakes. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
Excellent, easy and with a quick mix of the ingrediants, your hands are free to complete the main meal. I added some chopped green/red bell peppers and 1/4 cup minced green onions, which added some kick. I too used a little less butter but overall, I would continue to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This is the closest recipe I could find to the one I lost. It's always a big hit. There are a few shortcuts I take that make this much easier and quicker to make. I use the shredded hash browns and don't even have to bother with thawing them. I also use onion powder as opposed to chopped onions because some people in my family don't like onions but that way I can still get the flavor. You can also find boxes of cornflake crumbs that save you from having to do it yourself....I always keep one on hand and I use it for other things as well. I also don't use the butter as other people have stated, but I do use 16 oz of sour cream and a 2 c bag of cheddar. For a little bit better topping, I add more shredded cheese to the cornflake crumbs (some melted butter can be added to the crumbs, and it would probably be best, but I usually don't bother). However, one tip to this recipe....cover the casserole with with foil for the first 30 minutes or so of cooking. Uncover and then add your crumbs (and cheese if desired) and bake uncovered for another 15-20 minutes or so. I wouldn't bake it with the crumb topping for the entire time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States