O'Brian's Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
For us, a traditional holiday dish. The buttery cereal crumbs on top are a real hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I made this dish to go with Amish Meatloaf and it was a hit. I used O'Brien Hashbrowns because that's what I had in the freezer. I also used cream of mushroom soup with roasted garlic and accidentally omitted half the butter. I topped it with crushed Town House crackers because I was out of cornflakes.Make sure you thaw the potatoes first because it will take longer to bake them if they are frozen. My family liked it very much and my bf had the small amount that was left over for breakfast. Thanks for sharing this recipe! I'll make it again, it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Everyone liked this, but next time I will follow other reviewer's advice and cut the butter in half. I will also mix the everything but the topping in a bowl before putting in the baking pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Awesome recipe! I do make a few changes. Cut the first 1/2 cup of butter out and I use cheddar cheese in stead of American cheese. I also use Frosted Flakes instead of corn flake! I get requests to bring this to potlucks all the time! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by my4Rmarvy
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I loved this recipe as a child and made it last night for the first time. The only tweeks i made were not adding salt, as the condensed soup, has enough, and i splashed a little chicken broth and a splash of milk. I used the saltine crackers as the topping and it was so creamy. Also if you buy the frozen hashbrowns with red,green pepper and onion it saves a step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
We did this for Sunday family breakfast, the kids loved it! The only thing I would change is the amount of butter, it was a little too buttery. I also bought the hash browns with the peppers and onions and it saved a lot of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victor, New York, USA
Living In: Shortsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I used this for a church function and it went over so well I am using it for my fathers 75th b-day party and serve it with prime rib and salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
This was delicious!! I used cream of Celery soup and cheddar cheese and it was a huge hit!! It is easy to make rhis in larger volumes to feed more people!! My daughter has asked me to make this for her Cheerleading team dinner as a side and I will double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
This is an old but tried-and-true recipe. I don't get adding the chicken soup, so I always add cream of potato. I usually skip the cornflake topping, too, and it's still a good alternative if you don't want to make au gratin potatoes from scratch.... which, by the way, is simple to make but more time-consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Very good recipe, but it is a little too oniony for my family. I will cut down the onion a bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States