O'Brian's Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
great/easy recipe...added a can of drained green chilis to give it a lil zip...will def make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
This is my favorite potato dish. It is perfect for any occasion and everyone loves it! I don't usually put the corn flake topping on though. But other than that follow the recipe exact. You will find many other recipes that omit the butter, but to me that's the best part! I don't use the shredded hash browns, but the chunky ones. And make sure your potatoes are completely thawed, you want the casserole to be soft. This will be the first to go at any get-togethers so don't plan on leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bordertown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Lynden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
We liked this, but it was literally swimming in butter when the recipe was doubled. I think in the future I'll leave out the butter in the casserole part completely, and use half as much for the cornflake topping. Other than that, it's something I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINDYMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Everyone in my family asks me to bring this to get-togethers!! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I am always requested to make this. It is rich and filling and very easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Brought this to a potluck and everyone loved it. Total comfort food and oh so fattening, but who cares when it tastes this good?! I have made this half a dozen times now and it always gets gobbled up. Very filling. Oh, I did use orange aged cheddar cheese instead of American for more tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I had a Allrecipes Easter Brunch this year. I made the potato casserole along with many other recipes from Allrecipes. Apparently, frozen hash browns don't come in a 2 pound bag any more. It was reduced by several ounces. I reduced the butter to 3/4 cup total. Next time I will reduce the cheese by a bit and add more onion. Otherwise, it was super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This was only ok. With all the great reviews, I thought it would taste better. Not as good as the potato casserole I usually make. Butter can be completely omitted. I only used a little bit, and it was not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
My sister makes a recipe like this almost every Christmas. This year I was hosting Christmas and was looking to make sure we had everyone's favorite... "cheesy potatoes" for dinner. I was told these were even better than my sisters! Will definitely be making these a lot. I even made them after new years since my kids couldn't get enough of them. Their only downside...they're not very diet friendly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonja Grothe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I pulled this recipe for my mom to make on Christmas. She followed it exactly, except at the end she only used 1/4 cup of butter on the corn flakes. Oh, and we also used cheddar cheese. We all loved it! You really can't go wrong with so much cheese and sour cream. Might add a little bit of pepper next time, but otherwise, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States