O'Brian's Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 14, 2003
This was a pretty tasty recipe, but I didn't like it enough to serve at a gathering, it's nothing special. It's fine for home, although I don't know if I'd make it again. My only big complaint is that I checked the back of the hash brown pototes bag (I thought I spotted a new recipe to try) and I did spot a recipe - this very SAME one! The only difference was they asked for 1/4 cup butter, not 1/2, it had the corn flake topping and everything. Picky hubby said it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
Mmmm, this was so yummy! Definently a comfort food!! I probably won't be making often due ONLY to the fat content, but this is absolutely perfect for potlucks - delicious and it makes a whole casserole dish worth!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marble Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
Excellent, easy and with a quick mix of the ingrediants, your hands are free to complete the main meal. I added some chopped green/red bell peppers and 1/4 cup minced green onions, which added some kick. I too used a little less butter but overall, I would continue to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Excellent and quick to put together. I have also cut back on the butter and it is still delicious. This recipe allows you to add whatever you like on potatoes (i.e. peppers or a little picante) to make it personally yours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
I love this recipe...it's so easy. One time I was in a real hurry...I had no sour cream and I had no onions. So, instead of the sour cream, I added a can of cream of mushroom soup and mixed it in the blender with the other soup and some milk and substituted that. I also used dried onion flakes. I actually enjoyed it this way and have changed my recipe so I'll make it the same way each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
I enjoyed this dish, I passed it on to my daughter to make for my son-in-law, Brian, I know he'll love it, it is named after him, right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Pagosa Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
Simple to assemble, no mess no bother, and it is the hit of the meal every time I prepare it, which is often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
It was very good although next time I will double the amount of corn flakes. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2002
I've used a version of this recipe for years. I generally use frozen hash browns and when in a real pinch, frozen chopped onions and pre-shredded cheese. You can mix it up and throw it in the oven while you're dressing and within the hour you're out the door to your next 'do. For a quick brunch or light dinner, add cubed ham and broccoli florets. A wonderful, family-friendly one-pan dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
Kids would love this because of the cheese and potato combination. The taste is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States