Oaxacan Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This was a total home run. We didn't fry the tortillas but brushed them with EVOO and put them on a frying pan. This will be repeated for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Tried as written. One big flaw keeps it from being a 5. Do not fry the tortillas. Split into 2 batches of 9 or how ever many you need. Get a thin kitchen towel and put about an ounce of water on it and ring it out to spread throughout the towel. Wrap tortillas. Microwave on high for 45 seconds. Leave in towel and put in a covered dish. Repeat with others. Use as needed from there. On a personal note I cannot stand cilantro!! I used a combination of flat leaf parsley and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This is now my new FAVORITE meal. Reminded me of my drive thru Mexico. The flavors are phenomenal for such an easy meal. I will definately be making this over and over. - Phil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I loved the simplicity of this. I was skeptical at first, given that you don't marinate or cook the meat in any spices. The flavor combinations were amazing and very authentic! We added avocado, and for the low-carb eaters, we used lettuce wraps instead of tortillas. This is now one of our family's stand-by recipes, and great for week nights in the heat of the summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
I made these tonight and they were a hit with my family! I took another reviewer's advice and marinated the meat in lime juice, salt and pepper for about 15 minutes. I cooked the onion and a red bell pepper with the meat, since I didn't think my kids would eat raw veggies on tacos. Then we added the jalepeno and cilantro right before serving. I also used half corn and half flour tortillas since I didn't have enough corn tortillas. Both were good, though the corn was better. My kids and hubby were surprised that their tacos didn't need cheese, sour cream or any other regular taco fixings. I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Delicious but I like to cut the beef and marinate in lime juice,black pepper and garlic before cooking. Also I prefer wrapping a stack of tortillas in a damp towel and zapping in microwave to frying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dezzie
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
My favorite taco recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dezzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Straight from the Heart of Mexico, where simple ingredients come together to make great food. While these may seem plain, it’s the lime juice that is key to the authentic flavor so be sure and give it a good squeeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Delicious!!! Nice change from Americanized tacos. The only change I made was to marinate the strips in lime and minced garlic for 20 minutes. Even my picky hubby said they tasted great. Thanks for the recipe Lola!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I marinated the steak in 1/2 bottle of dark beer, 1 lime, salt and 2 tsps of chopped garlic for 2 hrs. I also put the tortillas in aluminum foil in the oven, instead of cooking in oil. Used the rest of the recipe and it was awesome!!!! The flavors were so fresh and no one could get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States