Oaty Cereal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
I made this as described, however I boiled the sugar mixture for longer. I know from having worked with past recipes, candy and fudge making, is that to get up to the right temperature to solidify at room temperature you would need to boil for several minutes. In fact, I let the sugar/honey mixture boil (while mixing) for about 4-5 minutes. I had no difficulty with these forming bars at all after boiling for longer than it stated in the recipe. Although I found the recipe to have a rather strong honey taste my husband and children who are honey lovers really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Demimi
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
During a high-fiber diet phase, I went and bought a box of Kashi Heart Healthy something. (i can't remember the name, but it resembles Cheerios) Well, it was bland.. and this recipe helped me get rid of my extra cereal! I found a few ways to make it healthier. Because the cereal was already flavored honey, and because I ran out, I replaced the honey (other than a few tablespoons) with sugar-free syrup (it's so low-calorie!!!) Next batch I make will be with crunchy natural peanut butter (or the reduced-fat natural kind). I used 1/4 cup of the splenda mix (you're supposed to use half the amount) so it turned out fairly low in sugar and carbs, other than the cereal. The cereal made it HIGH FIBER (yay!) and the peanut butter also made it high in fiber and added protein and omega something. So, not only are these yummy, but they are lower-calorie and nutritious! These are one of my new favorite snacks and I will make them again and again. Oh, also as soon as I made my first batch and was trying to press it into the pan it only filled up so I decided on the spot I wanted another batch. On the second batch, I didn't remove the saucepan from the heat while adding the peanut butter and it made the liquid darker and thicker (not in a good way) so I would recommend not doing that... I didn't have any problems making it into bars, and I think this recipe is great for making gross but healthy cereals edible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demimi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I was looking for a cereal bar recipe that's fast, easy, and tasty (I'm trying to have more homemade stuff and less prepackaged ). These are fantastic, and I don't even like honey!! I used wheatie puffs (think unsweetened Sugar Smacks. yeah, they're pretty bland), and boiled the honey mix for 3-4 minutes. I think I overdid it, though- the bars came out break-a-tooth-crunchy. But I found a solution (yaaay)! I covered a bar with a damp paper towel, and microwaved it for 20-30 seconds. Then I broke it up into bite-sized pieces and OM NOM NOM'd them good! SCRUMTABULOUS. EDIT: I boiled the honey/sugar mix for one minute (count 60 mississippis), and it was PERFECTLY chewy-- in fact, the bars stayed chewy for 2 weeks. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
My son has type 1 diabetes so I am always looking for whole grain, high protein snacks and desserts. This one is wonderful and so easy! Since the honey/whole grain combo doesn't cause the high sugar spikes that regular sugar does, this is the ideal way to let him have a sweet treat! To further reduce the carbs, I substituted 1/2 cup of Splenda for the white sugar. It turned out great! All of my kids LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
I changed ALOT of ingredients when making this, just to my own preference. I used cinnamon toast crunch cereal and added a little bit of chocolate. I kept the rest the same, just used diff. cereal. Thank you so much for the idea!!! I make these all the time, and try them with different cereal each time. My 3 year old loves them, and so do I!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
AMAZING! These are the best Cereal Bars ever!!! I used Kashi Go Lean, organic cinnimon O's, a little granola, and a little uncooked oats. I also subsituted a little low calorie syrup for 1/2 of the honey. I will definatly make them again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
this recipe is great. I alternated it a bit. I used cheerios and added trail mix instead of just salted peanuts. Then I made another batch minus the peanut butter and used fruit loops. outstanding for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
I don't know what I am doing wrong but I never end up with bars. I follow the directions exactly and I just don't manage to get bars out of this. The last time I made this I used more peanut butter and that didn't work. Regardless, I still think it tastes great. I just throw it in a zip lock bag and eat it as snack mix. The taste is great. I just wish I could actually get it to form into bars. I'll keep trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
These are the best cerial bars my kids lovethem. They travel well, and then don't make a mess to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I just made this yesterday and LOVED it. It was so good I have already made it a 2nd time! I know it is supposed to be for breakfast, but my kids think it is a dessert, and I am not going to tell them any differently! It was a little thin for my liking, si when I made it a 2nd time,I put it in an 8x8" pan and the thickness looks perfect! When I did it in a 9x13" pan (tupperware container) it did not quite fill it up, so it was a little thin and didn't stick together well (but it tasted great and set up like a charm). I think next time I will try it with another cereal, although I have a LOT of Cheerios! (small kid...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sterling, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States