Oaty Cereal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
These are great! My boyfriend loves these. I too used a 8x8 pan so I could get a thicker bar. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcn5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I was looking for recipes that called for peanut butter since I had two big jars on hand. I also had a big box of crisp rice cereal, so I used 2 c crisp rice and 1 c oat cereal. I left out the peanuts, used corn syrup instead of honey (didn't have it). These taste amazing and are sooooo easy!!! Thank you so much for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I followed this recipe almost exactly, I substituted one cup of cereal for brown rice krispy's. GREAT flavor! I loved the recipe because it used honey instead of corn syrup. I've been looking for a bar recipe without corn syrup and this one was perfect. I would have given it 5 stars but I couldn't get it form in bars very well. I think next time I will try melting the peanut butter with the sugar and honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
These were easy to make and taste great. I used splenda, agave nector, and a combination of multigrain cheerios and chocolate cheerios. I thru in a handful of oatmeal also. I heated the splenda and agave to just a boil, let it simmer for about 2 minutes until it started turning a carmel color, removed it from the heat, added the PB stirring until melted, then mixed in the cereals. Kid and hubby loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKWRIGHT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boring, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Cheerios, oats, rice krispies, walnuts, almonds, ground flax seeds, sesame seeds, sunflower seeds, raisins and a few chocolate chips (which melt when you mix it and make it extra yummy). All totalled to 4 cups....boiled honey, brown sugar and maple syrup for 30 seconds past a boil. PERFECT! I just made these again and they fell apart. I think it was because my peanut butter was cold and not at room temp (I was using all natural). Next time I will let it come to room temp first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Changed just a couple of things: 3 cups of cereal was not enough to balance the wet ingredients. I used 4 cups and it was just right. I used an 8x8-inch pan and they came out as 16 nice little cubes. I think a 9x13 pan would have spread them out too thin for me. Next time I'll try it with only 1/4 cup honey - it was rather sweet. Nonetheless, I really enjoyed these bars and so did my 18-year old son!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
These taste great! everyone really enjoyed them. Great crunch and not too sweet. The only thing is for some reason they didn't stick together enough for bars. They still tasted awesome. Maybe boil honey longer, I did it for about 5 minutes. Next time I'll try slightly longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Moores

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
loved it! we added some maple syrup to top off the honey... AMAZING! I love how this recipe is so versitile, I can't wait to try new variations of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
We absolutely loved these! Easy for the girls to help make and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bwmn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I used multigrain cheerieos and added chopped walnuts and pecans. I really liked these bars and I doubled the recipe to fit in a 9x13 dish. The only thing was I listened to another reviewer and boiled the sugar for 5 minutes and they turned out hard as a rock. I couldn't cut through them and the kids couldn't bite them. I'm definately making these again but I'm only going to boil the sugar maybe 2 or 3 minutes. I would like to know if anyone had good results using Splenda or Splenda mix for baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States