Oaty Cereal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Doing my best to get away from processed foods and tried this recipe. I subbed brown sugar for white, followed the rest of the recipe. These were yummy. Daughter and hubs LOVED them. They did set very hard so I will take the others suggestion and only boil the sugar mixture for one minute next time. And there will be a next tim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I made these just to see if the kids would like them. Cereal bars are so over priced at the store. I substituted Lite Karo syrup for honey because I was out, and these are already a big hit. We have already made a couple batches, adding coconut, nuts, craisens and different things just to try it.... Excellent recipe and fun to do with the kiddos. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iamablonde1970

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Very easy and good bar recipe. I made per the recipe, with a longer cooking time on the sugars. I also will use a smaller pan in the future so that the bars are thicker. I can see that this could be used with so many different cereals and add-ins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
These are great! I used Multi-grain Cheerios, crunchy peanut butter, and omitted the whole peanuts. I also put them in an 9x9 pan. They came out terrific. These taste SO much better than store bought cereal bars. Sweet and lightly salty. What more could you want in a snack?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
FANTASTIC! I only had 2 c of multi grain cherrios so I added a cup of rice crispies. I did another suggested and used 1/2c sugar, 1/2c honey, 1/4 syrup and added vanilla to my pnut butter. I also used an smaller pan than a 9x13 and also added chocolate chips! Of course they melted instantly making it a chocolatey sensation! I still believe with the chocolate chips that it has got to be better for you than the store bought cereal bars that have a shelf life of 2 years because they have so many perservatives in them! These are so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
very very good, though when cooled they turned hard as a rock, but only because i overcooked the sugar syrup. just keep an eye on that step, and the rest is golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I taste the PB more than the honey in this, and here's what I did (based on reading reviews): 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 cup honey, 1/4 cup maple syrup - boiled that for about 45 seconds. Then added 1 cup PB along with about 1 tsp vanilla. Then added 2 cups cheerios, 2 cups rice krispies, and 1 cup grape nuts. Stirred in some butterscotch and mini chocolate chips - spread out in a 9x13 pyrex and then let cool. These were yummy, and very moist. I'm anxious to hear how the kids like them in their lunches tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking_for_7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I think this is a better option than cereal bars with marshmallows. I let my sugar boil a few minutes and they definately got hard. Straight from the fridge, they were too hard, but at room temp, they were fine. I didn't have peanuts on hand, so I used green pumpkin seeds and chopped walnuts and also added some ground flax meal when I was mixing it up. They do have a strong honey flavor, but we liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Oh WOW! These were so good! They reminded me of the Payday candy bar! Double Yum!! I followed the recipe exactly and my whole family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I put mine in a 8x8 pan, and it was just the right thickness, but I found it very sweet. I will definitely make it again, next time less sugar and more cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States