Oaty Cereal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
very very good, though when cooled they turned hard as a rock, but only because i overcooked the sugar syrup. just keep an eye on that step, and the rest is golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I taste the PB more than the honey in this, and here's what I did (based on reading reviews): 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 cup honey, 1/4 cup maple syrup - boiled that for about 45 seconds. Then added 1 cup PB along with about 1 tsp vanilla. Then added 2 cups cheerios, 2 cups rice krispies, and 1 cup grape nuts. Stirred in some butterscotch and mini chocolate chips - spread out in a 9x13 pyrex and then let cool. These were yummy, and very moist. I'm anxious to hear how the kids like them in their lunches tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking_for_7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I think this is a better option than cereal bars with marshmallows. I let my sugar boil a few minutes and they definately got hard. Straight from the fridge, they were too hard, but at room temp, they were fine. I didn't have peanuts on hand, so I used green pumpkin seeds and chopped walnuts and also added some ground flax meal when I was mixing it up. They do have a strong honey flavor, but we liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Oh WOW! These were so good! They reminded me of the Payday candy bar! Double Yum!! I followed the recipe exactly and my whole family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I put mine in a 8x8 pan, and it was just the right thickness, but I found it very sweet. I will definitely make it again, next time less sugar and more cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I followed other reviews and substituted/added other ingredients (almonds, raisins), increased boil time to 2 minutes, and doubled the recipe. I had to end up cutting into 24 squares to reach a size my kids could finish at one sitting. Next time, I will feel comfortable using healthier cereal because the recipe is sweet enough without added sugar. Great recipe, thank you! These are our new school day breakfast bar! UPDATE: I made this recipe again and decided to try a 9x13 pan on a single recipe since the double recipe made a lot. I used Cheerios and all ingredients at the amount suggested and it did not make enough to fill the pan. I will now use an 8" for a single batch and 9x13 for a double.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
yummy my whole family loved them. I will definately make this again. I used agave nectar instead of honey. One problem i had was everything didn't hold together and it was hard to cut so i think i'll put more peanut butter into this. Over all very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
boil sugar and honey longer!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
i personally didn't like it. it was a little to sweet for me. i feel like there is potential in the recipe but i really wouldn't know what to alter about it. I'm not that good of a cook yet, haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I am a university student and needed a healthy snack to go with my early morning routine. These bars were easy to make and tasted delicious - my bf couldn't wait for the bars to cool off, he wanted to eat the mix right out of the pot! I will uses a smaller pan next time, or double the ingredients, as the bars were really thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States