Oaty Cereal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
These are great! I used Multi-grain Cheerios, crunchy peanut butter, and omitted the whole peanuts. I also put them in an 9x9 pan. They came out terrific. These taste SO much better than store bought cereal bars. Sweet and lightly salty. What more could you want in a snack?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
FANTASTIC! I only had 2 c of multi grain cherrios so I added a cup of rice crispies. I did another suggested and used 1/2c sugar, 1/2c honey, 1/4 syrup and added vanilla to my pnut butter. I also used an smaller pan than a 9x13 and also added chocolate chips! Of course they melted instantly making it a chocolatey sensation! I still believe with the chocolate chips that it has got to be better for you than the store bought cereal bars that have a shelf life of 2 years because they have so many perservatives in them! These are so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
very very good, though when cooled they turned hard as a rock, but only because i overcooked the sugar syrup. just keep an eye on that step, and the rest is golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I taste the PB more than the honey in this, and here's what I did (based on reading reviews): 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 cup honey, 1/4 cup maple syrup - boiled that for about 45 seconds. Then added 1 cup PB along with about 1 tsp vanilla. Then added 2 cups cheerios, 2 cups rice krispies, and 1 cup grape nuts. Stirred in some butterscotch and mini chocolate chips - spread out in a 9x13 pyrex and then let cool. These were yummy, and very moist. I'm anxious to hear how the kids like them in their lunches tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking_for_7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I think this is a better option than cereal bars with marshmallows. I let my sugar boil a few minutes and they definately got hard. Straight from the fridge, they were too hard, but at room temp, they were fine. I didn't have peanuts on hand, so I used green pumpkin seeds and chopped walnuts and also added some ground flax meal when I was mixing it up. They do have a strong honey flavor, but we liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Oh WOW! These were so good! They reminded me of the Payday candy bar! Double Yum!! I followed the recipe exactly and my whole family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I put mine in a 8x8 pan, and it was just the right thickness, but I found it very sweet. I will definitely make it again, next time less sugar and more cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I followed other reviews and substituted/added other ingredients (almonds, raisins), increased boil time to 2 minutes, and doubled the recipe. I had to end up cutting into 24 squares to reach a size my kids could finish at one sitting. Next time, I will feel comfortable using healthier cereal because the recipe is sweet enough without added sugar. Great recipe, thank you! These are our new school day breakfast bar! UPDATE: I made this recipe again and decided to try a 9x13 pan on a single recipe since the double recipe made a lot. I used Cheerios and all ingredients at the amount suggested and it did not make enough to fill the pan. I will now use an 8" for a single batch and 9x13 for a double.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
yummy my whole family loved them. I will definately make this again. I used agave nectar instead of honey. One problem i had was everything didn't hold together and it was hard to cut so i think i'll put more peanut butter into this. Over all very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
boil sugar and honey longer!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States