Oaty Cereal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
These are a good way of using up an abundance of cereal.... I need to find something that doesn't have all this sugar in it though. While very good, they are too sweet for my tastes. I also boiled the mixture for about 4 minutes and they did indeed set up very hard, tough to slice, but still good, almost like a toffee texture. Next time will experiment with the sugar quantity though....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I made this twice already. The first time the only change I made is that I added 4 cups of mixed cereal and I boiled it for a few minutes. I was unable to cut it so I just broke it apart. The second time I didn't have enough honey so I substituted maple syrup for most of the honey. I used 4 cups of cereal again. I boiled the mixture a little less and this time (for about 1-1.5 minute) and I was able to cut it into bars. Both times my husband devoured them so it's definitely worth 5 starts even though I myself find them too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I love these! I didn't add salted peanuts (just don't have any, but they'd be great!), so I just threw in some salt. I'm made two batches and didn't salt the first batch enough. The second time I gave my salt shaker a good shake into the sugar/honey mixture. Perfect! Also, the first time I made these I did as one review suggested and boiled the sugar/honey for about 3 minutes. The end result was more of a brittle. I still enjoyed it, but my 19-month-old son couldn't eat it. The second batch I only boiled for a minute or so and they came out perfect! They set up, but still chewy. Mmm mm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
sooo great for a grab and go snack! love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
The concept is great, the few ingredients is convenient, and the ability to change up the cereals used makes this versatile. Two things though: this will fit a 9x9 or 8x8 much better than a 9x13. It was so thin in a 9x13 that it didn't bars so much as brittle. Another thing is the amount of honey/sugar seems high for how little cereal there is. I was taught to make these with a 1-to-4 ratio. The honey + the sugar = 1 cup, so the cereal should be 4 cups, not 3. But I guess that's a matter of personal preference? I think I'll add more peanut butter next time too. It's a really good base recipe, however. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BNMacKenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I did not care for these snack bars. They were far too sweet and had little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Incredibly good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyDi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
So easy to make and so yummy!! A little sweet, but sooo good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canon City, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I just tried these because my 4 year old son wanted something "special" to eat and we had all the ingredients for this. I did double the recipe so that it could fit into the 9x13 pan, and was a little short on the whole cup of honey, but they turned out great. I did boil the sugar/honey mixture for about 3 minutes. When I pressed the mixture into the pan, I used wax paper to make it nice and even as it was hard to do with the spoon. They were not hard to cut and did not get too hard. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Pretty good. Good flavor but very hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baker lover: Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States