Oaty Cereal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
My husband doesn't even like honey and was very leery if them. Once he tried them it was a different story. He asks for them all the time. They definitely do not last in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cumberland, Maryland, USA
Living In: Callahan, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This is a good idea, but way too sweet. I'll use the basic ingredients again but try to find away to make it less sweet (any ideas?) Also the 9x13 pan means you'll have skinny flat bars, so I would recommend a smaller pan (8x8ish).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALYSTA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Very delicious! I made this with Kashi's Heart to Heart cereal it is has a very delicious flavor. I'd also love to try this with multi-grain cheerios. The sugar could probably be reduced to 1/3 cup rather than 1/2 cup to make these a little healthier. I don't recommend you boil the mixture. Only heat it to boiling and then remove, or boil for a few seconds (30 or less). I Boiled the sugar and honey for a minute before removing from heat and adding the peanut butter and they were a tad too hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsey Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
These are sooooo good! I'm vegan so I omitted the honey and used brown rice syrup instead. This is a very versatile recipe. I baked it as is and several other times with all kind of ingredients like toasted oats, mixed nuts, gluten-free cereals, dried fruit. The possibilities are endless. Thanks for a yummy treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJRsMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Family LOVED these, they were mad when they were all gone. I would cut back on the sugar or honey next time,,,I thought they were to sweet,,will def. make again to experiement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
These are a good way of using up an abundance of cereal.... I need to find something that doesn't have all this sugar in it though. While very good, they are too sweet for my tastes. I also boiled the mixture for about 4 minutes and they did indeed set up very hard, tough to slice, but still good, almost like a toffee texture. Next time will experiment with the sugar quantity though....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I made this twice already. The first time the only change I made is that I added 4 cups of mixed cereal and I boiled it for a few minutes. I was unable to cut it so I just broke it apart. The second time I didn't have enough honey so I substituted maple syrup for most of the honey. I used 4 cups of cereal again. I boiled the mixture a little less and this time (for about 1-1.5 minute) and I was able to cut it into bars. Both times my husband devoured them so it's definitely worth 5 starts even though I myself find them too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I love these! I didn't add salted peanuts (just don't have any, but they'd be great!), so I just threw in some salt. I'm made two batches and didn't salt the first batch enough. The second time I gave my salt shaker a good shake into the sugar/honey mixture. Perfect! Also, the first time I made these I did as one review suggested and boiled the sugar/honey for about 3 minutes. The end result was more of a brittle. I still enjoyed it, but my 19-month-old son couldn't eat it. The second batch I only boiled for a minute or so and they came out perfect! They set up, but still chewy. Mmm mm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
sooo great for a grab and go snack! love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
The concept is great, the few ingredients is convenient, and the ability to change up the cereals used makes this versatile. Two things though: this will fit a 9x9 or 8x8 much better than a 9x13. It was so thin in a 9x13 that it didn't bars so much as brittle. Another thing is the amount of honey/sugar seems high for how little cereal there is. I was taught to make these with a 1-to-4 ratio. The honey + the sugar = 1 cup, so the cereal should be 4 cups, not 3. But I guess that's a matter of personal preference? I think I'll add more peanut butter next time too. It's a really good base recipe, however. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BNMacKenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States