Oaty Cereal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I have made this a few times, and I have not been able to get actual bars. Regardless, it tastes great, and I end up with a healthy(ish) snack I store in ziploc bags. I have made the recipe with Splenda, reduced fat peanut butter and sugar free syrup (in lieu of some of the honey), and it tasted just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibDemJenn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
These are really good. They helped me useup the last of the Cheerios that weren't getting eaten. I think they'd be really good with some chocolate cips added or maybe some butterscotch chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bttrflybabydoll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
These bars are fantastic! My son loves cashews so I substituted some chopped ones for the peanuts and also added some almond slivers along with a handful of Golden Grahams...because I love them. These bars taste fantastic and are fun to make with little kids, too. I will be making them again and again and again. Very quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy F

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
A bit too sweet for me, but my husband loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Pretty tasty - I used half sugar and half splenda, and a mix of leftover cereals. Came out pretty well, but the bars were very thin in a 13x9 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Big Business

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lonaconing, Maryland, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
So delicious. My kids *loved* this. Such a great alternative to store-bought, and you've already got the ingredients in your pantry! Thanks for sharing - we'll be making this one quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Elmore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Florida, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Yum! I used Cheerios, natural peanut butter, reduced the sugar slightly, added 3/4 cup oats (both quick or old fashioned will work) and 1/2 cup dried cranberries. I continued to boil the sugar/honey mixture for 30 seconds after it came to a full boil and got a nice bar that stays together without being candy hard. Do not boil the honey/sugar mixture for up to 5 minutes. Doing so creates the "rock hard" and "break your tooth" oaty cereal bars referred to in other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
very easy, mine were a little gooey. Maybe I should have boiled the sugar mix longer. Tasted really good, very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This is very good. I added 1 tsp vanilla for more flavor and used 1/4 c. honey and 1/4 c. corn syrup (because I didn't have enough honey) and the flavor is wonderful. These should not be refrigerated - store in air tight container only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Addison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
This is a tasty, easy snack for the kids to make. We just use leftover cereal, dried fruit or whatever else we find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States