Oatmeal Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by HappyHousewife
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
These are out of this world with or without the filling!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyHousewife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
The cookie itself tasted very good. I am giving this only 3 stars because i felt that the cookies were a little too hard. I thought they would be softer. Maybe i will try to undercook them next time to get them chewier. Also i wasn't too excited about the filling. Too sweet and wasnt too crazy about eating shortening. Will try again, with some adjustments. But not a bad start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Delicious! Better than the cookie store at the mall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
holy cow, these are sweet. i really like the cookies (although mine turned out crispy instead of soft - maybe i should have made them bigger?), but the filling is a bit too sweet for me. and it's a little synthetic tasting, due to all the shortening, i'm sure. i think perhaps a cream cheese filling that's a little less sweet would be better. so, these turn out incredibly sweet and rich. if that's what you're into, go for it! i baked mine at 325 for 12 minutes, because they got a little overdone at 350. once again, it could be that i made them too small. i rolled them into balls for a nice round shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
It was delicious! Cookies turned out really thick, made for a very big "sandwich" - would try to get the cookies a bit flatter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Very Good! This is just my own little by accident tip. I made these on a hot day and the icing started to melt between the cookies so I put the cookies in the freezer. I wrapped each cookie in saran wrap and froze. So yummy, not too hard and the icing still soft. A yummy treat into a cool treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wv_mtnr_cook_78

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
The oatmeal "pies" are just great oatmeal cookies themselves... but if you're looking for something really sweet then add the filling and sandwich them. They're great either way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
Very good recipe. They came out just as I had hoped they would. A nice variation to the chocolate/marshmallow version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
These were delicious! I had been looking for a recipe like this one for years and these came as close as any to the ones my mother used to make. My brother thanks you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2003
Cookies were soft and delicious (and stayed soft!), the filling was the crowning glory, but you need to have a sweet tooth. MMMMMM! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States