Oatmeal Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
These cookies are awesome but they're too big, especially when the filling is pure delicious fat and there's two cookies instead of one. I make mine mini size. They're still super soft and chewy. I just put the batter in the freezer for about fifteen minutes so they don't come apart during baking. They stay nice and tiny in the oven if you chill them first. I never use egg whites for the filling though, too scary. I've made these cookies three years in a row for cookie exchange and they're just unbeatable even though I have to make three hundred cookies... so worth it. Yum! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
These were sooo good!! Everyone loved them! I did add about a cup more confectioners sugar to tone down the taste of the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I made these yesterday and my family loved them. I must admit that mine came out more like Little Debbie Oatmeal Pies (flat) instead of small rounded cakes, but they were still very good. I also used 3 cups of confectioner's sugar as I felt 2 cups left the filling tasting like Crisco. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MickeyRenee
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Excellent! These taste just like the Little Debbie oatmeal creme pies but even better. I kept the cookies the same, baking them for 10 minutes to keep them super soft. I used a different filling consisting of 7 oz. marshmallow creme, 1/2 cup shortening, 1/3 cup powdered sugar, 1/2 teaspoon vanilla, and 1/4 teaspoon salt dissolved in 2 teaspoons hot water. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MickeyRenee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
excellent filling recipe, used my own oatmeal cookie recipe, rave reviews on the filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Fantastic!! My family loved them and they are quite hard to please
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
THESE WERE AMAZING!!!! PUT THEM IN THE FREEZER AND ENJOY THEM FROZEN YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Oatmeal cookie recipe is great. I followed others' advice and cut down on shortening when making the filling but, it was still too (painfully) sweet. I'll go with cream cheese filling next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I had everything on hand to make these! Everyone loved them. After tasting the frosting I did add more sugar because it was a bit heavy on the shortening flavor but still 5 stars because it was still so delicious with the cookies. I will definitely make these again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
These cookies were great. The only complaints I received was that I ruined some diets. I used paterized liquid egg whites that I found in the egg product/egg substitute section of the store. It was a lot more expensive than regular egg, but preferable to salmonella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States