Oatmeal Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I can't review the cookie part fairly because I altered the recipe too much. But I made the filling accordingly, only lowering the amount of shortening based on reviews to 1/2...still, shortening is ALL I can taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I followed the recipe to a "t" and it is delicious. Another reviewer mentioned that the frosting tastes like shortening. It does if you taste it withou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
These are very good. I agree with other reviewers, they would make excellent oatmeal cookies just on their own. I used butter-flavored shortening in the cookies. When assembling the cookies for baking, I rolled them into small balls and then partially flattened them with the bottom of a glass. Next time I will flatten them even more since they still puffed up quite a bit. Even a little too thick, they still made excellent sandwich cookies and my DH was a very happy guy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
My kids loved these. Make your cookies small since 2 of them are one serving. I kept these in the freezer and they were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
These are tasty! I only added 1 1/2 cups of oats & it seemed like enough. I recommend flattening the cookies a little before baking, I did not & my sandwiches ended up pretty thick. I've had cookies that were softer, more cake-like & this recipe is definitely cookie-like. Also I used butter in place of shortening to avoid hydrogenated fats & it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I made these and was unhappy with them. Maybe I did something wrong. My mother didn't even like them. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
OMG!!! These are really very good and in my opinion taste so much better than the store bought ones. Very easy to make. Wonderful!! Thanks for a Great Recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
These were pretty good!! Came out soft taste was ok wasnt blown away by them . but no complaints with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
They got hard did everything it said
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Darbrow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I made these for a church fundraiser. They sold out within minutes. These are very sweet but excellent cookies that I would make and eat daily if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States