Oatmeal Whole Wheat Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Delicious and easy recipe. Instead of oil, I added fat-free Greek yogurt. This swap for oil worked very well in this recipe. I also added dried cranberries to the dough and dusted the top of the loaf with Italian herb blend before baking. Definitely double the recipe if you would like a bigger loaf of bread. No need to put the oats in the food processor since using whole oats makes this bread even better tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
i made these into rolls and they were absolutely delicious! i used buttermilk because i didn't have any milk on hand, and also used olive oil. they had a great consistency and taste, this recipe is a keeper! next time i will try making them with almond milk to make them vegan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Used coconut milk to make these dairy free and baked them in cupcake tins. I cannot believe how easy and YUMMY they are. Impressed and totally adding these to my regular rotation! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bloomingdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mcallen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
OK MY FIRST TIME HERE, WANTED A NO YEAST BREAD, MADE THIS ONE, but i replaced veg oil for olive oil, and almond milk instead of regular milk.....it didn't quite stay in a ball, it really flattened out on the baking sheet, at 20 mins i took it out , bottom was definitively cooked - was about 1 cm on the edges and about 6-7 cm in the middle, i cut it in half and it was still doughy on the inside, so i had to cut it down the center and split it open and pop back in the oven for a few mins...what did i do wrong??? other than that - it taste fine and will try again - lol becus of the hack job on the bread my lunch wasnt quite as appealing looking but my tuna, avacado spread with some butter on this bread was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This is scrumptious. Definately will make again - dense and nutty and satisfying. Added 1/2 cup flaxseeds and 1/4 cup sunflower seeds. Don't bother grinding the oatmeal. 6-8 servings. Baked 20 min in a loaf pan lined with parchment paper - easy clean up. Will try other nuts and seeds and dried fruit next time! Or maybe olives and rosemary and sundried tomatoes...endless possibilities
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Fast, easy, versatile. And tasty! I was out of milk, so I used plain yogurt, and that worked fine. Other reviewers mentioned the dough being runny, and mine wasn't--so maybe yogurt even works better than milk. I also used barley flour instead of whole wheat flour, because I have a bag of it I'm trying to get rid of. Worked fine. I would double the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
absolutely fabulous! tastes so fresh and healthy good! i used olive oil and i even added chopped onions to my second loaf and will be adding more fun healthy things to it! great recipe! i needed a recipe without yeast (a trigger for a recovering alcoholic family member) so this was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kennedy Family

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Simple, healthy and So good; plain or with anything you throw into it. I can slap this together while dinners cooking for bread and butter to be proud of, Thank you very much for shareing this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Yummy. Mine turned out very flat but I think that was because I replaced part of the whole wheat flour with spelt which usually doesn't rise as much. I also didn't bother to grind the oats. Great with tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This bread turned out so much better than I was expecting. I will be making this for breakfast on the weekend for years to come! I ran out of honey so I had to sub in some maple, but it turned out perfectly. Also used quick oats instead of rolled oats. Topped it off with some extra quick oats... mmm. yummy. perfect with some butter and raspberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States