Oatmeal Whole Wheat Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This is a great recipe! I followed the recipe exactly, and came out with a tasty, quick bread that my husband thought I must have spent a lot of time on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I followed the recipe and my bread came out very flat and I did not care for the texture either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bad bad kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Great easy recipe. Thanks for sharing. I will be keeping this one!! I grew up eating dense breads... no need for regular snacking. This is so quick and healthy. I doubled the recipe to get a regular loaf and used soy milk. I also did not grind all the oats so it had a bit more texture. When next I bake this ( pretty soon) I will consider not doubling the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
YUM! Only change I made was to use Quick Oats, because we didn't have rolled oats in the house. Didn't have to process the oats since they were already broken down. The dough is pretty wet but it is supposed to be a "flatter" type loaf and works okay baking on a cookie sheet per directions. Also loved the crunchy bottom and top. Great with butter or without!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miriam Leal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Delicious and easy recipe. Instead of oil, I added fat-free Greek yogurt. This swap for oil worked very well in this recipe. I also added dried cranberries to the dough and dusted the top of the loaf with Italian herb blend before baking. Definitely double the recipe if you would like a bigger loaf of bread. No need to put the oats in the food processor since using whole oats makes this bread even better tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
i made these into rolls and they were absolutely delicious! i used buttermilk because i didn't have any milk on hand, and also used olive oil. they had a great consistency and taste, this recipe is a keeper! next time i will try making them with almond milk to make them vegan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Used coconut milk to make these dairy free and baked them in cupcake tins. I cannot believe how easy and YUMMY they are. Impressed and totally adding these to my regular rotation! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bloomingdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mcallen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
OK MY FIRST TIME HERE, WANTED A NO YEAST BREAD, MADE THIS ONE, but i replaced veg oil for olive oil, and almond milk instead of regular milk.....it didn't quite stay in a ball, it really flattened out on the baking sheet, at 20 mins i took it out , bottom was definitively cooked - was about 1 cm on the edges and about 6-7 cm in the middle, i cut it in half and it was still doughy on the inside, so i had to cut it down the center and split it open and pop back in the oven for a few mins...what did i do wrong??? other than that - it taste fine and will try again - lol becus of the hack job on the bread my lunch wasnt quite as appealing looking but my tuna, avacado spread with some butter on this bread was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This is scrumptious. Definately will make again - dense and nutty and satisfying. Added 1/2 cup flaxseeds and 1/4 cup sunflower seeds. Don't bother grinding the oatmeal. 6-8 servings. Baked 20 min in a loaf pan lined with parchment paper - easy clean up. Will try other nuts and seeds and dried fruit next time! Or maybe olives and rosemary and sundried tomatoes...endless possibilities
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Fast, easy, versatile. And tasty! I was out of milk, so I used plain yogurt, and that worked fine. Other reviewers mentioned the dough being runny, and mine wasn't--so maybe yogurt even works better than milk. I also used barley flour instead of whole wheat flour, because I have a bag of it I'm trying to get rid of. Worked fine. I would double the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States