Oatmeal Whole Wheat Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly as written but it just didn't come out well. Very bland and wouldn't hold together at all after it was baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This recipe is delicious! As a college student who is trying to save money and live a healthy lifestyle, I decided I would try to make my own bread. I am glad I came across this recipe because it was super easy. I substituted oil for applesauce and honey for 1 tbs. of brown sugar and used 1 cup of skim milk. I baked this in a loaf pan and realized that I should have doubled the recipe..oh well :) Came out moist and wonderful. Very happy to find a healthy quick break.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Lepien

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This was simple, fast, and delicious! It has a lot of whole grain flavor. I made mine in a round cake pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Excellent! I had to use unbleached flour instead of whole wheat (didn't have any) and it came out great anyway! I served it with homemade chicken soup and my guys loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Holy Moley this is GOOD! I love that it's fast and knead-free. This is indeed a dense loaf, but it's perfect for sandwiches or with a smear of jam/honey. I used mainly white all purpose (bc I was low on wheat), used whole uncooked oats, substituted the honey with vanilla yogurt, doubled the recipe, and added about an extra cup of flour to get it the right loaf-like consistency to turn out on a baking stone. I'm making two loafs again tonight to last the coming week. Great recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
WOW. I did not expect this bread to be so amazing! I compared other people's reviews and made a few changes and oh boy, this is good! I added one egg to the recipe and baked it in a loaf pan at 350F for 40 minutes. wow. I can't believe something so delightful can come out of a recipe with so little oil!! i love it so much! I can't wait to share it with other people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This is a great versatile recipe! I doubled the recipe, didn't grind the oats, added 1/2 cup of ground flax meal, 1/2 of chopped pecans, 1/2 cup of dried cranberries, 2 tsp of cinnamon, substituted EVOO for vegetable oil, and substituted with vanilla soy milk as well. Baked a dozen muffins at 375 degrees for 20 minutes (until toothpick was clean). They have a great crusty muffin top and a delicious taste. Fantastic breakfast or snack muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Really quick and easy. I used quick oats and left them whole. Also,I added a dash of cinnamon and used sour milk in place of regular milk. I cooked this in my 10.5 inch cast iron skillet and it only needed 15 minutes to get done.Smells and tastes wonderful as is, or slather with butter for a real treat. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I soured my milk with two tablespoons of lemon juice. Instead of baking this on a oiled baking sheet, I baked this in a greased loaf pan. Right before baking, I drizzled a couple tablespoons of melted butter over the dough in the pan. GREAT breakfast bread. I made a strawberry cream cheese spread to schmear over it--the family flipped for it. I bet this would make an EXCELLENT beer bread using beer in place of the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I used sour cream instead of oil. Turned out okay. I put it in a loaf pan and had to bake for 30min not 20 and i love the taste of it. Recommend adding more salt. Very dense!! But considering the quickness & easy ingredients....its good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JudyAngel101

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States