Oatmeal Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
just bought a waffle stick maker and was browsing for fun recipes. We love oatmeal and this recipe is outstanding. It's so good, and so easy to make. This is officially my number 1 waffle recipe. thank you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Didi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I "ground" the oats down to a fine consistancy (think similar to whole wheat flour) before I used it in this recipe. I didn't realize until after I'd added the oatmeal to the combined wet ingredients that I'd flip-flopped the amounts of the oatmeal and the flour. No big deal, they still turned out fabulous. The smell of these cooking was insane. My family LOVED them. NOTE: The recipe does not tell you to let the batter sit five-ten minutes to allow time for the oats to soak up some of the additional liquid. You must do this or it will not be as thick as it needs to be. This recipe made eight full waffles. For us, this served four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
to make these gluten-free I used "Carole's Sorghum blend" (you can find the recipe on-line) and added 1 tsp vanilla, and doubled the vanilla. I didn't add any xanthan gum and they turned out perfect. Great!! I freeze the leftovers and after I thaw them out I pop them in the toaster on 2 and they get crunchy again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Delicious! Best waffles ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
These waffles are really good! My batter was fairly thick and I was worried that they wouldn't cook through, but they turned out fantastically! I had to use a spatula to spread the batter to the edges of the waffle maker and cooked until I saw no more steam coming from the iron. My only changes were that I used buttermilk in lieu of milk and I added a teaspoon of vanilla to the batter. These were loved by all in my family tonight! Thanks for sharing this recipe, Marna Heitz!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Made these this morning, as I am looking for more ways to incorporate oatmeal into our diet. I halved the recipe, otherwise followed it to a T. They were great!! Will definitely be making again and again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Beloit, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
These are great! I made them exactly as written and they turned out crunchy on the outside and fluffy on the inside. The batter gets very thick and bubbly but it turns out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Just what I was looking for, crispy on the outside, great taste, I love the addition of oats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
These were really good. I didn't have quick cooking oats, so I boiled the milk and threw a cup of old fashioned oats in. I ended up having to add more milk though to get the right texture. I used 2TBSP butter and 2TBSP canola oil. Also, I wanted it to be more like oatmeal raisin cookies, so I added raisins and butterscotch chips. The chips kind of made a mess, so next time I think I'll throw them on top after they comeout of the waffle iron. Will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Made exactly as written, and this makes one super delicious Waffle, Will make again many more times for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States