Oatmeal Thumbprints Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
I ended up with 76 cookies; baked them 7 1/2 minutes. They're very good. I omitted the nuts & tossed in an extra scant 1/2 cup of oats. Next time I'll try vanilla instead of almond extract. I would recommend letting the dough sit for 10 minutes or so before making your cookies. I found that the dough was easier to work with as I went along, because the oats were absorbing liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
These turned out great! After reading that a few of these leaked through the bottom, I made mine a bit bigger by rolling them into 3" balls then making a more shallow hole, rather than a deep thumbprint. I used cherry, blueberry, and strawberry jam for mine, and all three kinds worked really well. I also used all shortening (ran out of butter...) This is definitly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
This is an excellent cookie! I made it last Christmas for the first time and my husband insisted that I make them again this year. I use more jam than called for, but everything else I do as the recipe says. Only problem is I keep calling them "jum thambprints"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
This was such a good recipe. Makes soft, chewy cookies and my daughter was helping make the indentations and putting the filling in. They taste wonderful! This recipe is a keeper! Stores well, also! We are hooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momyshaver
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
I tweaked this a bit. My oatmeal cookies tend to turn out too thin so I used cake flour instead and I increased the amount by 1 cup or so. I also used milk rather than water, omited the nuts entirely since I have small children, and I also used rolled oats that I pulsed slightly in the food processor so that they were fuller than minute oats but not as big as rolled oats. I also used butter flavored shortening entirely rather than the mix of butter/shortening called for in the recipe...and strawberry jam because it was what we had an abundance of. They turned out great but I will probably use 1/2 cake flour and q/2 all purpose next time for a less cakey cookie but hopefully not too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momyshaver
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
Sorry, but I wasn't crazy about these. They turned out more "cake-like" than my taste prefers. I also had a hard time with the dough. It was so moist and sticky that I couldn't put a thumbprint in the middle. I let some of the dough sit in the fridge for a bit and that helped, but still wasn't easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellydancer
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
I would have given these three stars, however my family likes these, so I will go four stars. The oatmeal cookie part is very dry after baking, and the almond extract seems out of place in an oatmeal cookie. If I attempt these again, I will use vanilla extract instead of the almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
loooove these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Leandro, California, USA
Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
The dough was really tasty! I used pecans in the middle instead of jam. My sister used the leftover dough to make an oatmeal bar with raisins and nuts and peanut butter in the middle of 2 layers of oatmeal cookie dough and that was great! A lot of ingredients but a really great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I had never made thumbprint cookies before. They were very easy and very good. My friend came over and we made a whole bunch of homemade Jam, and I wanted to use some in a fun way. What a great cookie with the jam. Thankyou so much. We are making apricot jam tomorrow and I will be making these cookies again to go along with that jam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dnkbug

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States