Oatmeal Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
These do taste like sugar cookies--more on the sugar cookie spectrum than on the oatmeal cookie spectrum. they are good and spread a lot, but I did bake at 8 minutes instead of 10 minutes. I've learned through years of cookie baking to decrease the suggested time by 2 minutes--but I also know my oven. Some ovens run hot, some run cold, so it helps to know what you are working with. I don't feel this made a ton of cookies, but it was a decent sized batch. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
What a lovely cookie! Thank you, Robin. I looked for an oatmeal cookie that didn't call for brown sugar, because I was out of it - I was out of raisins, too, ;o(. I did substitute 1/3 cup butter. Next time I may increase the cinnamon to 1 teaspoon, just because we love cinnamon. But the cookie turned out nice and crisp - great texture, great taste. I have some of them in the freezer now. This will be a standard in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michele
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Very good, I will definitely make these cookies again. Made 40 cookies. I did grease the cookie sheets. My oven temperature was set at 350°. Didn’t realize until after baking the temperature said 375° in the recipe. Anyway they were perfect. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Not the best, but when we had nothing else we thought we could make (living in Santiago, Chile) they worked for a sweet tooth craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I love oatmeal and sugar cookies, so when I saw this recipe I had to try it. I let the dough sit in the fridge overnight and then baked the next day. They taste just like a sugar cookie with oatmeal and are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Very good recipe I would use butter flavor shortening next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
So great! I made them using butter and omitted the raisins and then frosted with home-made butter cream frosting. Holy Moly!!!! They turned out wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
delicious cookies, but they came out too flat for me (most cookies do though) so I made some frosting with powdered sugar, butter, vanilla, and milk and I sandwiched frosting between two cookies. They were delicious- like Little Debbies, but better! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
My two favorite cookies are sugar and oatmeal. These are the best cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mickaella Litman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pfafftown, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Good tasting cookie. I used butter instead of shortening, substituted 1/4 cup flax meal for 1/4 flour, used whole wheat for the rest of the flour, did not refrigerate, and baked 2 large cookies at 350 to use as fruit pizza crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States