Oatmeal Strawberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This turned out great. I made several changes to make it more healthy: -half white and half brown sugar -added 1/2c ground flax seed -added 1c walnuts -used half white and half wheat flour -used 1c applesauce plus 1/2c oil instead of 1 1/2c oil Also, I had no fresh strawberries so I mashed with a potato masher 16 oz of frozen strawberries partial strained
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Looking over the recipe, I was sure that 1-1/2 cups of oil would be too much. I also thought 1 T. of cinnamon and 1-1/4 pounds of strawberries would be too much. Indeed, when I mixed up the batter I was sure my suspicions were true. The batter is very thick, and almost looks oily. I suspect it is the juices from the strawberries that provide the extra moisture the batter seemed to need. It all came together to produce a moist, beautiful bread, full of strawberry flavor, and just the right hint of cinnamon. What did NOT work was the size of the pans called for. When I looked at the batter in the bowl I just knew I would need bigger pans, and as it turned out the 8x4" pans I used were just right. I prepared this exactly as written and believe it needs no changes or tinkering. And the sprinkle of oatmeal on the top is a great finish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
wow. subbed out oil for equivalent in strawberry puree. this is so super strawberry flavored it's insane. if u have extra berries go for the puree substitute. healthier and delicious! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This was very tasty! Next time I think I would use half brown sugar/half white. Also...I added walnuts...and it as spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I tried this recipe with the same motivation its creator had: aging strawberries! And I'm really pleased with the results! No major changes, but here they are: Cut the sugar to 1 c. white, 1/2 c. brown. Added the walnuts per the other suggestions. I used 1 c. oil and 1/2 c. plain yogurt. Oh, and I didn't have 7X3 loaf pans. But, nevertheless, it worked nicely with an 8X4 and 12 regular sized muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chez jenna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I halved this recipe as I only wanted to make one loaf. I'm glad I did--not bc this bread is bad but bc it is awesome and I don't need to eat it! It's only downfall is that it's crumbly where the strawberries are, but I can so deal with that bc the taste is wonderful. You can definitely taste the strawberries and the bread is slightly sweet--not too sweet at all. It lets the oatmeal and strawberries shine. I was a bit worried about the batter as it was so thick. The strawberries were a bit difficult to fold in but once I did it was fine. I did have to bake about 25 min longer, but I had overripe strawberries and I tossed in a few more than called for, so that would easily account for that. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Used 1 cup ww flour. 1/2 cup oil & 1 cup pureed strawberries 1 1/2 cup brown sugar & 1/2 cup wht sugar Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by followthebeat
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This was easy to make, and perfect for strawberries that needed to be used. Slicing them worked great because there weren't any really soggy spots in the finished product, a problem I've had with other recipes that called for the berries to be chopped. I made the recipe as is, and found it was just sweet enough. I think using brown sugar may make it richer-tasting, but it's not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by followthebeat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SarahSweets
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Super yummy but the batter was SO thick. I halved the recipe but next time I'll just do whatever it says because all I really did was create a half loaf, Instead of oil I used strawberry yogurt took out all the sugar and created a cinnamon swirl though the bread just kinda sucked it back in. Oh yeah when you're adding the oat mixture on top make sure to wet them first unless you want dry oatmeal crumbs on top, haha. As I said earlier Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tigard, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Really liked this and a great use of strawberries about to go bad. Made exactly as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States