Oatmeal Strawberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Excellent Recipe: I did a vegan version that was super yummy. Since it has not milk, the only substitution is for the eggs. In general an excellent egg substitute that is frequently better than eggs in backing is: 1 Tbsp Ground Flax Seed, 3 Tbsp water per egg. Totaling 1/4 cup ground flax to 3/4 cup water in this recipe. I also cut the sugar down to 3/4 a cup, and found it to be great- not lacking sweet flavor at all. I had only frozen strawberries and no scale, so I blended them and put in a large quantity- can't tell you how much exactly. Loved it! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This was so easy to make and sooooo good!! I had strawberries that would of gone bad on me and some cream cheese. I blended them together with some white sugar and some icing sugar and added it to the mix!! YUMMY!!!! I went lighter on the white sugar in the recipe and did use brown sugar. I also didn't add the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This recipe was amazing and one of the best breads I have ever made! Came out wonderful just the way it was and had so many compliments! Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leopardgirl
Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
It didn't cook all the way through for me! I made it exactly as directed. I thought maybe it was my oven, so I turned the heat down, covered them with foil, and baked for another 20 minutes, then another 20, and another 20. Still mushy on the inside! Too bad too, the cooked portions were delicious. I think I will try again, except bake it into muffin cups instead and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rinny182

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by juststardust
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I made this as a 6-serving batch of Oatmeal Strawberry Muffins instead. Subbed vanilla yogurt for sugar + oil, and used about 8 oz. sliced strawberries instead. Mixed a bit of brown sugar with the dampened oats for topping, which created a delicious streusel. Came out quite savory for me, so if you want something sweet, don't leave out the sugar in the batter. Overall, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juststardust
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I made MUFFINS! Pretty dang good! I followed the recipe except I just cannot put that much oil in something some I replaced 1 cup of oil with 1 cup of applesauce and added the 1/2 cup of oil. I also put replaced a 1/3 of the flour with whole wheat flour. I baked the muffins for 28 minutes at 350 degrees and they came out great! They would be perfect for an after school snack. I just didn't want a wait a hour...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This was good. I changed it a bit based on what I had at home. I used brown sugar instead of white and I used 100% strawberry preserves instead of fresh strawberries. I cut the oil by 2/3. I also made muffins instead of bread. My family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This was yummy and different! I made it for my Mother and she is a classic mid-western baker. She loved it! I also made it for my twin sisters who are special needs and participate in the "Special Olympics". I specifically made it for a fund raiser bake sale for their team and it was a hit! I made mini loafs and they sold out very fast! I too followed the advice of other reviewers, and substituted half white sugar and half brown sugar. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susubelusu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Very good. I substituted unsweetened applesauce for the oil, only used 1 and 1/3 cups of sugar and used 1/2 whole wheat flour to make it a bit healthier and it still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SarahSweets
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Super yummy but the batter was SO thick. I halved the recipe but next time I'll just do whatever it says because all I really did was create a half loaf, Instead of oil I used strawberry yogurt took out all the sugar and created a cinnamon swirl though the bread just kinda sucked it back in. Oh yeah when you're adding the oat mixture on top make sure to wet them first unless you want dry oatmeal crumbs on top, haha. As I said earlier Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tigard, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States