Oatmeal Strawberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I tried this recipe with the same motivation its creator had: aging strawberries! And I'm really pleased with the results! No major changes, but here they are: Cut the sugar to 1 c. white, 1/2 c. brown. Added the walnuts per the other suggestions. I used 1 c. oil and 1/2 c. plain yogurt. Oh, and I didn't have 7X3 loaf pans. But, nevertheless, it worked nicely with an 8X4 and 12 regular sized muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chez jenna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This was very tasty! Next time I think I would use half brown sugar/half white. Also...I added walnuts...and it as spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This turned out great. I made several changes to make it more healthy: -half white and half brown sugar -added 1/2c ground flax seed -added 1c walnuts -used half white and half wheat flour -used 1c applesauce plus 1/2c oil instead of 1 1/2c oil Also, I had no fresh strawberries so I mashed with a potato masher 16 oz of frozen strawberries partial strained
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
wow. subbed out oil for equivalent in strawberry puree. this is so super strawberry flavored it's insane. if u have extra berries go for the puree substitute. healthier and delicious! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Used 1 cup ww flour. 1/2 cup oil & 1 cup pureed strawberries 1 1/2 cup brown sugar & 1/2 cup wht sugar Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Yummy! We made this close to the original recipe (subbed oat flour and reduced the sugar per our habit). It was delicious, moist, and still addictively sweet with lowered sugar. Like others said, this recipe is a great way to use well ripened berries. We love it. Thanks for sharing your wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
i changed the serving size to 6. since i only had a little bit of strawberries that needed to be used. i replaced some of the white sugar with brown sugar, as others have said. made a very good not to sweet bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I halved this recipe as I only wanted to make one loaf. I'm glad I did--not bc this bread is bad but bc it is awesome and I don't need to eat it! It's only downfall is that it's crumbly where the strawberries are, but I can so deal with that bc the taste is wonderful. You can definitely taste the strawberries and the bread is slightly sweet--not too sweet at all. It lets the oatmeal and strawberries shine. I was a bit worried about the batter as it was so thick. The strawberries were a bit difficult to fold in but once I did it was fine. I did have to bake about 25 min longer, but I had overripe strawberries and I tossed in a few more than called for, so that would easily account for that. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This came out like two enormous strawberry oatmeal breakfast bars. It slices really well. Amazing. I tried it per the recipe (1.5 c raw sugar) but I think I'll try the puree version and try to reduce the sugar further. This was really, really thick going into the oven. I think it has to sort of melt together. Freezes really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by .:-Amber.Marie-:.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Martinsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States