Oatmeal Strawberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I don't know, I think this is simply too much oatmeal for our tastes. No one liked this in our family, although I did learn that cinnamon goes well with strawberry though, so thanks for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnSuiter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I halved this recipe as I only wanted to make one loaf. I'm glad I did--not bc this bread is bad but bc it is awesome and I don't need to eat it! It's only downfall is that it's crumbly where the strawberries are, but I can so deal with that bc the taste is wonderful. You can definitely taste the strawberries and the bread is slightly sweet--not too sweet at all. It lets the oatmeal and strawberries shine. I was a bit worried about the batter as it was so thick. The strawberries were a bit difficult to fold in but once I did it was fine. I did have to bake about 25 min longer, but I had overripe strawberries and I tossed in a few more than called for, so that would easily account for that. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
i changed the serving size to 6. since i only had a little bit of strawberries that needed to be used. i replaced some of the white sugar with brown sugar, as others have said. made a very good not to sweet bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Yummy! We made this close to the original recipe (subbed oat flour and reduced the sugar per our habit). It was delicious, moist, and still addictively sweet with lowered sugar. Like others said, this recipe is a great way to use well ripened berries. We love it. Thanks for sharing your wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Delicious sweet bread! I used a bit more cinnamon. I will use the suggested substitution (from other cooks)for the oil. There's too much oil in the bread. You can't tell when it is baked, however, when placed in pans before baking, the oil oozes to the sides. I used several paper towels to dab the oil. I will definitely try 1 c.applesauce and 1/4-1/2 c. oil next time. Other than that, this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Looking over the recipe, I was sure that 1-1/2 cups of oil would be too much. I also thought 1 T. of cinnamon and 1-1/4 pounds of strawberries would be too much. Indeed, when I mixed up the batter I was sure my suspicions were true. The batter is very thick, and almost looks oily. I suspect it is the juices from the strawberries that provide the extra moisture the batter seemed to need. It all came together to produce a moist, beautiful bread, full of strawberry flavor, and just the right hint of cinnamon. What did NOT work was the size of the pans called for. When I looked at the batter in the bowl I just knew I would need bigger pans, and as it turned out the 8x4" pans I used were just right. I prepared this exactly as written and believe it needs no changes or tinkering. And the sprinkle of oatmeal on the top is a great finish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Used 1 cup ww flour. 1/2 cup oil & 1 cup pureed strawberries 1 1/2 cup brown sugar & 1/2 cup wht sugar Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by followthebeat
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This was easy to make, and perfect for strawberries that needed to be used. Slicing them worked great because there weren't any really soggy spots in the finished product, a problem I've had with other recipes that called for the berries to be chopped. I made the recipe as is, and found it was just sweet enough. I think using brown sugar may make it richer-tasting, but it's not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by followthebeat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I tried this recipe with the same motivation its creator had: aging strawberries! And I'm really pleased with the results! No major changes, but here they are: Cut the sugar to 1 c. white, 1/2 c. brown. Added the walnuts per the other suggestions. I used 1 c. oil and 1/2 c. plain yogurt. Oh, and I didn't have 7X3 loaf pans. But, nevertheless, it worked nicely with an 8X4 and 12 regular sized muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chez jenna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
wow. subbed out oil for equivalent in strawberry puree. this is so super strawberry flavored it's insane. if u have extra berries go for the puree substitute. healthier and delicious! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States