Oatmeal Strawberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This was a tasty way to take care of berries about to go bad. I didn't have two loaf pans, so I made muffins with the remaining batter. I think I liked the muffins better. They are already individually portioned and they don't turn out quite as oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
You don't need to use so much sugar or oil. But I did make a few changes to make a healthy version of this bread. ok, here we go......Step 1: Mix 1 C miracle whip and 2 TBSP of sugar and 2 TBS brown sugar and one egg beaten. after mixing this together add cinnamon. then mix. add sliced strawberries ( I only had 8 on hand so then I also added 1 C strawberry jam.) add 1 TBSP of oil ( I only added this for good measure but next time I aint going to) Mix this altogether and now Step 2: add 1 C oats, mix. 2 C flour, 1-1/2 tsp baking soda and 1/2 tsp baking powder. Pour into greased pan. I used a round Wilton pan size 10X3. This turned out to be very moist! I dont even think I'm going to use any sugar or brown sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lidie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This tastes great! I think I will play with the recipe a bit, the 1 1/2C oil was just too much for my liking. I think I will try applesauce as previously suggested. Also used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar and I liked that a lot, this time around I might use splenda instead of the white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by .:-Amber.Marie-:.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Martinsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This came out like two enormous strawberry oatmeal breakfast bars. It slices really well. Amazing. I tried it per the recipe (1.5 c raw sugar) but I think I'll try the puree version and try to reduce the sugar further. This was really, really thick going into the oven. I think it has to sort of melt together. Freezes really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I don't know, I think this is simply too much oatmeal for our tastes. No one liked this in our family, although I did learn that cinnamon goes well with strawberry though, so thanks for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnSuiter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I halved this recipe as I only wanted to make one loaf. I'm glad I did--not bc this bread is bad but bc it is awesome and I don't need to eat it! It's only downfall is that it's crumbly where the strawberries are, but I can so deal with that bc the taste is wonderful. You can definitely taste the strawberries and the bread is slightly sweet--not too sweet at all. It lets the oatmeal and strawberries shine. I was a bit worried about the batter as it was so thick. The strawberries were a bit difficult to fold in but once I did it was fine. I did have to bake about 25 min longer, but I had overripe strawberries and I tossed in a few more than called for, so that would easily account for that. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
i changed the serving size to 6. since i only had a little bit of strawberries that needed to be used. i replaced some of the white sugar with brown sugar, as others have said. made a very good not to sweet bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Yummy! We made this close to the original recipe (subbed oat flour and reduced the sugar per our habit). It was delicious, moist, and still addictively sweet with lowered sugar. Like others said, this recipe is a great way to use well ripened berries. We love it. Thanks for sharing your wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Delicious sweet bread! I used a bit more cinnamon. I will use the suggested substitution (from other cooks)for the oil. There's too much oil in the bread. You can't tell when it is baked, however, when placed in pans before baking, the oil oozes to the sides. I used several paper towels to dab the oil. I will definitely try 1 c.applesauce and 1/4-1/2 c. oil next time. Other than that, this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States