Oatmeal Sourdough Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
While I recommend using a "sourdough sponge" {if you don't know how just look it up on the web} to give some extra sourdough flavor I thought these were wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dewshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
My family and I really liked this recipe. I made half of it into rolls, and the rest into a loaf of bread. Making 12 rolls out of half of the dough made very small rolls. I would make larger rolls in future. The loaf was wonderful. Tasty and healthful. Mine had a dark but not too crisp crust, the inside was a nice even and soft texture. This will be my standard bread from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheri
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
These are the best buns that I have ever made! They were sooo soft, and they tasted sooo good! I am very happy that I found this recipe! Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sundre, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I'm so glad I found this recipe--the rolls are amazing. I used rolled oats that add a nice crunch to the crust, and I used all honey and butter. The sweetness and the slight tang of sourdough and the texture--wow, they are outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I made this into two loaves, rather than rolls. Subbed 1c of the flour with 1c white whole wheat flour, and 3T of flour with 3T vital wheat gluten. Used butter rather than margarine, and whole oats rather than the quick cooking kind. This had a dark brown crunchy crust and was light brown inside. I couldn't detect a sourdough flavor, but it tasted good. Thanks for the recipe, Sconner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Wonderful sourdough rolls. Only change I made was to sub 1 cup wheat flour for 1 cup of white flour to make it a little healthier. Will definitely make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
These were fabulous! I'm always looking for recipes to use with my sourdough starter. I sub'd 1 cup of whole wheat flour for 1 cup of A/P flour as someone else suggested. They can also be made without a bread machine. I used my heavy duty stand mixer. The dough handled beautifully. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austinville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
I had a new Stand Mixer and some sourdough starter so thought this recipe would be good. It was GREAT. The rolls did not make it until the chicken was done though. Next time I will double the recipe. Soft and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty from Las Vegas

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I used brown sugar instead of molasses, as I was out. The honey and brown sugar cut down on the tangyness of the sourdough, so it didn't quite have the sourdough tang we were hoping for, but they were good none the less. It had firm crust, but very soft inside, just the way we like it! I made 16 sandwich sized rolls instead of 24 dinner rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This is a great recipe. I did it without a breadmaker and added some ground flax seed and spelt. I've done a bread loaf and rolls and it's been great both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States