Oatmeal Sourdough Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I made this today as a loaf. Turned out really nice...the only changes I made were that I used half whole wheat flour and didnt use any molasses. Very yummy, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
These rolls are amazing! I cut the amount of honey and molasses in half but only because my husband doesnt like sweet bread. The texture and flavor were just what I had hoped for and my family LOVES them! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weatherford, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Piedmont, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nuggets
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
These were great, and I didn't even put in the oatmeal! Thought I had some oatmeal until I went to get some.(oops) I also only used 2 T. honey and no molasses. Maybe a little too much butter in the dough for me, but still good. When they came out of the oven I brushed them with melted garlic and dill butter. So soft and moist. I bet they will be even better with oatmeal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
delicious rolls! i used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 a.p.flour otherwise followed the recipe exactly. the rolls were so moist and soft. these will definitely be a regular in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crockpotpirate

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
wow. i would have not believed a "sourdough" recipe would be this good! it is not sour at all. it is sweet, just as sweet as "sweet dinner rolls", but (thanks to the sourdough) the texture is amazing. they have a crisp outside and soft middles, soo soo soo delicious. The flavor and the texure are just unbelievable. must try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachelle Vernon Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This is a great recipe. I did it without a breadmaker and added some ground flax seed and spelt. I've done a bread loaf and rolls and it's been great both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I used brown sugar instead of molasses, as I was out. The honey and brown sugar cut down on the tangyness of the sourdough, so it didn't quite have the sourdough tang we were hoping for, but they were good none the less. It had firm crust, but very soft inside, just the way we like it! I made 16 sandwich sized rolls instead of 24 dinner rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
I had a new Stand Mixer and some sourdough starter so thought this recipe would be good. It was GREAT. The rolls did not make it until the chicken was done though. Next time I will double the recipe. Soft and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty from Las Vegas

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
These were fabulous! I'm always looking for recipes to use with my sourdough starter. I sub'd 1 cup of whole wheat flour for 1 cup of A/P flour as someone else suggested. They can also be made without a bread machine. I used my heavy duty stand mixer. The dough handled beautifully. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austinville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Wonderful sourdough rolls. Only change I made was to sub 1 cup wheat flour for 1 cup of white flour to make it a little healthier. Will definitely make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States