Oatmeal Sourdough Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I absolutely love the taste and texture of these rolls! I needed to use some of my starter and these make such a light,tender, fluffy, slightly sweet roll. Perfect for the holiday table. I love the little crunch of the oatmeal. I don't have a bread machine so just mixed it up by hand. omitted the molasses and used 4 tbsp. of buckwheat honey, which is a darker, stronger honey. Thanks so much for a lovely roll recipe. Great alternative to using starter instead of the weekly loaf of classic sourdough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I've made this recipe twice so far, just mixing the ingredients by hand as I do not have a bread machine. Once I made it with the molasses and once I substituted brown sugar. Both turned out well, though I think I liked the brown sugar version better. It was a bit sweeter and tasted more like a parker house roll to me. I used slow-cooking oats both times. Once I just stirred them directly into the mix and once I followed another reviewer's suggestion to soak them first. Soaking made for a less chewy product, which I think I preferred, though next time I am out, I think I will just get some instant oats to keep on hand. I will definately keep making this recipe as it is an easy way to use the extra sourdough starter whenever I feed it (just can't bring myself to throw a cup of starter away). Very worthwhile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Fabulous recipe. I even misread the recipe and only used 1/2 cup of sourdough starter instead of 1 c. and no molasses( i didn't have any) but extra honey. I also substituted 1 cup whole wheat flour instead of all purpose. Used my bread maker until i get a stand mixer with dough hooks for Christmas (dropped a hint to hubby today!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
The world's pickiest eater said "those are allright". These surprised me...they ended up some of the best rolls I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
This is a great recipe. I have a good started so I did not use the yeast or soda. I changed out one cup of white flour for one cup of oatmeal flour. They rose up high and had a great flavor, and a tender crumb. I will use this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This tastes great! Using rye sourdough starter, this gives whole grain goodness. I formed some dough into a bread pan, and some into a free formed loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I really liked the rolls. I don't have a bread machine so I kneaded the dough the old fashioned way. My total time was about 2 hours. They cooked up much bigger than I thought, so I'll make them smaller - golf ball size, next time. Hope it helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyauck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
These rolls are amazing. I used butter instead of margarine, but only half of what was called for. I brushed them lightly with melted butter when they came out of the oven. These are a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Very nice! If you have an active starter, you do not need the yeast, just plan on a longer rising time. Also leave out the soda for a more pronounced sourdough taste. To use rolled oats, soak them in the warm water for 15 minutes before continuing with the rest of the recipe. I made them by hand. Beautiful! Yummy! The changes I made: Rolled oats, No yeast, No soda, EVOO instead of margerine (used only 1/4 cup)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamabear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I made this today as a loaf. Turned out really nice...the only changes I made were that I used half whole wheat flour and didnt use any molasses. Very yummy, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States