Oatmeal Sourdough Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
These were good and are very fluffy. Very easy recipe and the dough was very manageable. Will definitely make again. These were the perfect balance of sweet and salty, the proportions of salt and honey are perfect. I always love recipes that incorporate whole grains like oatmeal. I added a pat of butter to my warm rolls and gave the inside a sprinkle of cinnamon sugar and they were so good this way but all in all they were good all alone as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
yum. very easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Minor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canby, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
they are good, I will leave the soda out next time. if you have a good starter doubt if need the yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Make this recipe often. Made some personal changes after making my first batch. Thanks in advance for your original recipe, Sally!!!! I use Organic Coconut oil in place of margarine. Also use egg replacer for egg. Old Fashioned oats instead of quick cooking. Substitute 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and 2 1/2 cups unbleached all purpose for the flour. Leave out the molasses and my sourdough strain is from 1847 started on the Oregon Trail! Famous with my family and friends!! Mostly organic, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
First time try sourdough bread and the result was great! I substituted margarine with same amount of coconut oil, left out molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This was my first time ever making sourdough, and I used 'no-commercial yeast starter' from this site, feeding it 12 hours before making these. I omitted the baking soda but kept the yeast because my starter didn't have any. Used 2 tbsp butter + 2 tbsp oil( 1/2 cup sounded like an awful lot). I also don't have a bread maker so I made it by hand, by proofing yeast, mixing in the wet ingredients, then the dry and kneading for 5 min. Then I let rise for 1.5 hours and followed the rest of the recipe from there. They have a fabulous texture and light flavor...HOWEVER... I have to knock a star down because I could barely taste the sourdough flavor, and it is supposed to be a sourdough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Wow! Made this recipe just like it states except that I let them rise on the baking sheet for about 2 hours. Rolls reminded me of the ones from grade school when they were made from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
These are fabulous! Melt in your mouth good and sooo easy! I used grapeseed oil instead of margarine. I also used old fashioned oats instead of quick and just soaked them in the warm water called for. My kids used some of my rolls to create a "bear!" using raisins for eyes/mouth/buttons. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Barneveld, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I made these almost exactly as directed, minus the molasses (didn't realize I was out). I say "almost" because I used a Kitchen Aid mixer, mixed the dough for about 5 minutes, let it rise in the bowl, formed rolls on my cookies sheet, then let it rise again before baking. They are yummy... just sweet enough and very soft. I did make 12 rolls and they're huge! Next time, I'll make 20-24.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States