Oatmeal Sourdough Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
These rolls are amazing. I used butter instead of margarine, but only half of what was called for. I brushed them lightly with melted butter when they came out of the oven. These are a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Very nice! If you have an active starter, you do not need the yeast, just plan on a longer rising time. Also leave out the soda for a more pronounced sourdough taste. To use rolled oats, soak them in the warm water for 15 minutes before continuing with the rest of the recipe. I made them by hand. Beautiful! Yummy! The changes I made: Rolled oats, No yeast, No soda, EVOO instead of margerine (used only 1/4 cup)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamabear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I made this today as a loaf. Turned out really nice...the only changes I made were that I used half whole wheat flour and didnt use any molasses. Very yummy, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
These rolls are amazing! I cut the amount of honey and molasses in half but only because my husband doesnt like sweet bread. The texture and flavor were just what I had hoped for and my family LOVES them! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weatherford, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Piedmont, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nuggets
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
These were great, and I didn't even put in the oatmeal! Thought I had some oatmeal until I went to get some.(oops) I also only used 2 T. honey and no molasses. Maybe a little too much butter in the dough for me, but still good. When they came out of the oven I brushed them with melted garlic and dill butter. So soft and moist. I bet they will be even better with oatmeal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
delicious rolls! i used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 a.p.flour otherwise followed the recipe exactly. the rolls were so moist and soft. these will definitely be a regular in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crockpotpirate

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
wow. i would have not believed a "sourdough" recipe would be this good! it is not sour at all. it is sweet, just as sweet as "sweet dinner rolls", but (thanks to the sourdough) the texture is amazing. they have a crisp outside and soft middles, soo soo soo delicious. The flavor and the texure are just unbelievable. must try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachelle Vernon Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This is a great recipe. I did it without a breadmaker and added some ground flax seed and spelt. I've done a bread loaf and rolls and it's been great both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I used brown sugar instead of molasses, as I was out. The honey and brown sugar cut down on the tangyness of the sourdough, so it didn't quite have the sourdough tang we were hoping for, but they were good none the less. It had firm crust, but very soft inside, just the way we like it! I made 16 sandwich sized rolls instead of 24 dinner rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
I had a new Stand Mixer and some sourdough starter so thought this recipe would be good. It was GREAT. The rolls did not make it until the chicken was done though. Next time I will double the recipe. Soft and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty from Las Vegas

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States