Oatmeal Sourdough Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I made this almost exactly as written, but I was looking for a loaf...the only variation I did was to leave it all in the bread machine through the entire bread cycle. Made a very delicious loaf of bread...just as written! Thanks for the recipe, Sally!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
These were awesome! I omitted the molasses and used butter instead of margarine but otherwise made as written. They are so soft on the inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
these rolls are amazing....i made them in the kitchenaid stand mixer, added all the ingredients with the dough hook. Had to add more flour as mentioned by the other reviewers when making in the stand mixer. Very simple, added to mixing bowl, set on low, added additional flour as needed, oiled mixer bowl, covered with plastic wrap allowed to rise for an hour or so, kneeded a few times, formed into rolls and placed on oiled baking sheet, covered with damp kitchen towel and allowed to rise for an additional hour and then baked according to directions! I will be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Meriden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Descolada
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I used old fashioned rolled oats which I soaked 15 minutes ahead and I used 1/4 C olive oil instead of the margarine (for a lactose-free version). I left out the baking soda as well. I don't have a bread maker so I let the dough rise an hour after kneading and before forming into rolls. The I let the rolls rise an additional hour before putting into the oven. The rolls were soft and fluffy with a very nice flavor. These freeze very well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Descolada

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Absolutely fantastic. I didn't have molasses so I substituted brown sugar but otherwise kept the recipe and I am so, so impressed. I'm always looking for more things to do with my starter and this will be a go-to for the rest of my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
These are yummy! Mine didn't rise much at first but plumped up nicely in the oven. I made these with my Kitchen Aid and I did need to add a lot more flour, about 3/4 cup, but after the first rise the dough was very easy to work with. I was a little disappointed that mine didn't brown, and the molasses gives the dough a slightly 'off' color. I also used about half the molasses because I think a little goes a long way. Will make again with a few changes. The sourdough flavor and the texture from the oatmeal is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Excellent, as my son said! Needed a bit more flour as I made them in my KA. To be repeated many times over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Very nice. Light and fluffy. I cut the recipe in half, used 1/2 the amount of butter and put melted butter on top of rolls when taken out of the oven. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mn78

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
These are yummy. I don't own a bread machine, and probably never will. I start with the water, honey, molasses and yeast, add egg and butter and then the rest of the ingredients. I'm guessing the dough cycle of the machine lets it rise once. I didn't and ended up with fluffy but small rolls. I'll give it another rise the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Very good. I made it into rolls for the family and then liked it so much that I made another batch that I braided into a loaf and cooked for my dad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMPEREDKERI2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States