Oatmeal Sourdough Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
these were very good. My dough was a bit too sticky/had to add more flour into it. They were a little sweet for a dinner roll. I think personally I would try again and decrese the honey to be less sweet.*I made these again with some changes. 2nd time around I used half the molasses, half the honey, flour: used 1/3 wheat and 2/3 white +added 1/2 cup of flour; beat it in the kitchenaid mixer with a dough hook on low for 5 min. THIS one I like!Family did not care for the" sweet" one but gave the version with less sugar and part wheat flour the thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Fantastic! I've made 2 batches so far. I followed the recipe pretty closely except for the additional flour needed which is very typical when making bread because of environmental differences. The second batch I used 1/4 butter (1/2 cup is just to much fat in a loaf of bread), and rolled oats that I soaked in the water, 1 cup wheat flour 2 cups white and again additional flour to reach the right consistency. These were light and fluffy with a soft crust. The kids devoured them. I agree it would be very hard to get 24 rolls from one batch but these are so yummy I'll need to double them every time! A few hints when using sour dough; it must be kneaded until the dough is soft not sticky and an imprint with your knuckle springs back slowly. There is a fantastic site to explain the nuances of working with sour dough http://www.thewilbournegroup.com/Sourdough/SourdoughStarterHelp.html , especially note the paragraph on shaping and baking. I've never had another misshapen flat loaf again.(well worth the read). We made cinnamon rolls with a batch of these, also very yummy. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5COOKIEMUNCHERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyndeborough, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
These are very good. My sourdough is not very sour so I didn't get that aspect. However, on the opposite side, I do not think they are too sweet. I prefer my rolls to have a sweet background taste and these do. I used about 1 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour to replace some of the ap flour. I also added a t of lecithin granules and a t of vital wheat gluten. Consequently the rolls were very light and fluffy. I did not add the additional yeast because my starter has yeast in it. The dough did not rise very much because of that. I will add at least some yeast when I make them again. I love oatmeal in bread and therefore I love this recipe. I ended up with 24 rolls, after forming them into golf ball sized balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Excellent recipe thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
best rolls ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HungryDude

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Penn Yan, New York, USA
Living In: Palmyra, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
My family loved these. they do not like strong sour dough so they worked well for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This is a very tasty roll, but in my opinion not suited for dinner, because of its sweetness. One could eat it for breakfast of course. I will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I really likes this recipe. Unfortunately the measurements weren't correct. I needed more than one extra cup flour to get the dough into a manageable state and the baking time was way off, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Fantastic! I have alternated between butter or Crisco on these instead of margarine (bleck) and have had success both times. My boys like helping with these as well. Great and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Legomom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I used my Kitchen Aid to make these rolls. I proofed the yeast (I used one whole "packet" of active yeast) in the mixer bowl with the honey and warm water for ten minutes until the yeast "bloomed", then I added the starter, molasses, egg, melted butter (which I used instead of margerine), then the dry ingredients. I did run my oats through my mini-processor before using it using the ice crushing feature so my oats would be a finer consistancy. This did need about 3/4 cup of flour more than what was asked for in the recipe. I kneaded this dough with my dough hook for about five minutes, then I set it to rise for an hour in a large greased bowl covered with a tea towel on a warm heating pad for an hour. I used a 1/4 cup measuring cup to make uniform rolls and rolled them on the counter to make better shaped rolls. I covered the top of the rolls in a greased muffin tin with saran wrap before letting it rise on the warm heating pad for another half hour or so. I baked them at 400 degrees for 15 minutes. These rolls were really very good! The oats gave the rolls a nutty kind of flavor--which was just wonderful combined with the yeasty-sourness of the starter and the buttery-molasses-y flavor. These turned out really fluffy and soft and just......incredible! NOTE: I will say that I did not get 24 rolls out of this recipe, I got 12. That was fine for me because that was all I needed. For someone else who wants a recipe that make a larger quanitity, be sure to double this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States