Oatmeal Sourdough Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
These were probably THE BEST rolls I have ever made. I used all whole wheat including my sourdough and they were fantastic. I left out the molasses and used 1/2 coconut oil and 1/2 real butter instead of the margarine. Raised high and were light and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Sasser Nilssen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I am a bread baking novice. These rolls are so soft, supple and unbelievably tasty that I had to leave the room while they cool to keep from eating more of them... I followed the recipe exactly and the rolls are PeRfEcT!! I will be making these again. They are well work the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yella
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
omg! these are sooo yummy! so tender, moist, crispy outside, fully risen and light, using a heating pad was a jewel of a tip! I love these rolls. Took advice from other reviewers, no soda, no margarine, instead, evoo.. no yeast, just the sourdough starter, and no salt...I think it inhibits the rising, so..and I used ww pastry flour for one of the cups of flour. did grind the old fashion oats in my mini chopper, to a course grind, added the water to them and let soak about ten mins...ok, that is it. They rose beautifully and baked in about 12-14 mins. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
these were very good. My dough was a bit too sticky/had to add more flour into it. They were a little sweet for a dinner roll. I think personally I would try again and decrese the honey to be less sweet.*I made these again with some changes. 2nd time around I used half the molasses, half the honey, flour: used 1/3 wheat and 2/3 white +added 1/2 cup of flour; beat it in the kitchenaid mixer with a dough hook on low for 5 min. THIS one I like!Family did not care for the" sweet" one but gave the version with less sugar and part wheat flour the thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Fantastic! I've made 2 batches so far. I followed the recipe pretty closely except for the additional flour needed which is very typical when making bread because of environmental differences. The second batch I used 1/4 butter (1/2 cup is just to much fat in a loaf of bread), and rolled oats that I soaked in the water, 1 cup wheat flour 2 cups white and again additional flour to reach the right consistency. These were light and fluffy with a soft crust. The kids devoured them. I agree it would be very hard to get 24 rolls from one batch but these are so yummy I'll need to double them every time! A few hints when using sour dough; it must be kneaded until the dough is soft not sticky and an imprint with your knuckle springs back slowly. There is a fantastic site to explain the nuances of working with sour dough http://www.thewilbournegroup.com/Sourdough/SourdoughStarterHelp.html , especially note the paragraph on shaping and baking. I've never had another misshapen flat loaf again.(well worth the read). We made cinnamon rolls with a batch of these, also very yummy. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5COOKIEMUNCHERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyndeborough, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
These are very good. My sourdough is not very sour so I didn't get that aspect. However, on the opposite side, I do not think they are too sweet. I prefer my rolls to have a sweet background taste and these do. I used about 1 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour to replace some of the ap flour. I also added a t of lecithin granules and a t of vital wheat gluten. Consequently the rolls were very light and fluffy. I did not add the additional yeast because my starter has yeast in it. The dough did not rise very much because of that. I will add at least some yeast when I make them again. I love oatmeal in bread and therefore I love this recipe. I ended up with 24 rolls, after forming them into golf ball sized balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Excellent recipe thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
best rolls ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HungryDude

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Penn Yan, New York, USA
Living In: Palmyra, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
My family loved these. they do not like strong sour dough so they worked well for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This is a very tasty roll, but in my opinion not suited for dinner, because of its sweetness. One could eat it for breakfast of course. I will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baerbel Schlatter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States