Oatmeal Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Delicious!!!! My only problem was there seemed to be a little too much flour, and after forty minutes of baking, the top seemed a little mushy, but we took it out anyway. It firmed up and was fine, but the bottom was a little hard. Over than that, a great side dish! We served it with bean soup and everyone loved it. Great leftover with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
It's good when it's cool, like the recipe says, but right out of the oven it's SPECTACULAR. I substituted a cup of wheat flour for one of the cups of white flour like another writer suggested. The bread is kind of crumbly, but I don't mind a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Yum. Made with regular sour cream and whole milk, so no low-fat here! Outside browned long before the inside was done, so cover with foil and test for doneness as others have recommended. Dense and slightly sweet; great toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by berrysweet
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Super easy to make. I had leftover seeds that I mixed into the flour mixture and over the top of the bread (poppy, flax, sesame), hence the picture I posted. Turned out great. Will definitely keep this on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Yummy! As many other reviewers said, I also used wheat flour, and yogurt is a great substitute if you don't have sour cream on hand. It is a fantastic and super easy bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
It's like a giant bisquit. Very good. I used wheat flour for about 1/3 of what the recipe called for and white for the rest. I don't suggest letting the mound of bread dough set too high, even if it brings your diameter over 8in, or the bread is a bit dense and soft in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I love this bread! It's much better than any other soda bread I've made. It has a really nice flavor and is actually best without any honey or butter or jam on top. The texture is great, you could even use it to make sandwiches if you cut it thick. We don't usually enjoy thick crusts, but the crust on this bread is really tasty. Like others have said, the loaf isn't necessarily done when the top is browned. I suggest sticking a knife into the loaf to see if it's cooked in the middle. I'm glad I did this because the first time I took it out of the oven, it was still raw inside. To keep the top from browning any more, I covered it with foil. This kept the top nice but allowed the insides to cook more. The recipe says to let it cool completely before slicing, but if you cut wedges out of it while it's still a little warm, it's amazing. Leftover cooled bread can be used for sandwiches like I mentioned earlier, or you can put it in the toaster and it will be almost as good as when it came out of the oven. Great recipe, I will make this again and again! Next time I'm going to try using wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Very good! My husband who usually doesn't care for plain bread loved it! I followed previous suggestions of using yogurt instead of the sour cream and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Excellent texture and wonderful flavor. I used King Arthur whole wheat white flour. It did take a bit longer to bake than the recipe said (about 50 minutes). Be sure to test it with a toothpick before removing it from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWC4520

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Falling Waters, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I made the recipe exactly, then added about 1 cup of craisins at the end. I shaped the loaf into a circle about 8 inches across and 2 inches high and baked it for 50 minutes. It puffed up nicely and looked so beautiful! But it was almost inedible because the inside did not cook through. I scrapped off the outer crust and it was delicious, but I was so disappointed not to be able to serve it. Next time I will bake for 1 hour and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States