Oatmeal Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I did not add a thing to these, and they are so good! My husband loved them as well. The only mistake I made was taking them out too early. At 25 minutes, the edges had browned nicely, so I took them out. The middle wasn't quite as crispy as it should be, and the edges actually could have stayed in longer. Trust the recipe as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyjojo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Yum! I made half a recipe and baked it for about 28 minutes in an 8" cake pan. The only thing I did different from the recipe was to add a healthy splash of vanilla (couldn't help myself!). Even those these are crumbly, they are OH! SO! GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
On some of the other reviewers advice I added some vanilla. I really likes the chewy texture. A little bit oily, so maybe a touch less than a cup of butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Very dry. I added vanilla because otherwise it wouldn't have had much of a flavor. I think the oatmeal absorbed any moisture and the texture is just strange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
These are amazing and so simple! I love that there's just a few ingredients, and ones that I always have on hand. Sometimes I cut them, put them on a cookie sheet, and drizzle chocolate over them. Another time I dipped the cut squares into chocolate. I've doubled the recipe before too, and it doubles perfectly. I'd give this recipe 10 stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This was sooo good and so easy! I didn't change a thing. Next time I'll try it with vanilla and cinnamon... Maybe tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Castro

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
These were not very good, bland/pasty. They tasted undone after 35min in the oven. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandiee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
These were soooo good. I didn't have any regular all purpose flour on hand but I did have whole wheat flour. They had a great nutty flavor to them. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I'm not a huge oatmeal cookie fan - but my husband is. I thought this cookie was fantastic. The best of both worlds: the healthful benefits of oatmeal, and the rich buttery taste of shortbread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUNTTISH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
These were great! I halved the recipe to use up some scraps from the pantry. I made cookies instead, and baked them for 15 minutes, and they came out chewy with crispy edges. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States