Oatmeal Raisin Toffee Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
First, these are very good cookies. But after reading the other reviews I made the following changes; I substituted half the butter for margarine and added 1/2 tea. salt. I also used old-fashioned rolled oats. And I baked for 11 minutes and cooled on rack for 1-2 minutes. My cookies did not spread ... they were about 2 inches in diameter after baking. I did get a little over 4 dozen. Very very good cookies! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2004
These were good. If I made them again I would make sure that the toffee bars were in large chunks. I used toffee bits and I think the toffee was a bit lost in the finished cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
This is a very good recipe for a chewy oatmeal cookie, I partially flattened some for a crisp cookie. My husband and neighbors went wild for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
This is an excellent cookie! I followed the directions except for I added a 1/2 teaspoon of salt and I used four Skor bars that I crushed. It is true you really cannot taste the toffee but it definitely gives dimension to the cookie that it would not otherwise have. I also plumped the raisins in water before adding to the recipe. A+!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
A huge hit! When I went to add the toffee bits, I was surprised to see that I had cinnamon chips instead. I added them anyway and the cookies were fantastic! Next time, I will make sure I have toffee bits and try them that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
After reading the reviews I did change the recipe a little. Instead of 1 cup butter, I used 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup shortening. I also added 1/2 tsp salt. I used a 8oz bag of Heath Toffee Bits and quick cooking oats. My cookies did not spread or stick to the parchment paper. I only let them cool for 3 minutes on the cookie sheet before moving them onto a cooling rack. I will definitely make these cookies again. But I will increase the rasins to 1 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rupert, Idaho, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
These were great! I don't know if I made them a little larger than in the recipe, but I found they needed to bake for closer to 13 minutes, instead of the 8-10 called for. Also, I couldn't find plain toffee bits, so I tried these with the chocolate covered toffee bits, and got rave reviews on them. I will definitely add this to my cookie recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Incredible!!!! I did not find the toffee bits disappeared at all. I chilled the dough first to minimize spreading. The butter makes these! I don't recommend skimping it will affect the texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This recipe is a hit every time. They always turn out soft and chewy, never hard and dry. There are no changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 13, 2004
Probably the best oatmeal raisin cookies I ever made. Moist and tasty. Everyone loved them. However, I needed to up the cooking time to about 12 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States