Oatmeal Raisin Cookies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I actually don't really know how to rate the recipie because after reading the reviews and getting all the tips from there it's not even the original recipie. I don't have time to fool around soaking raisins for an hour; I dumped some water with them and put them in the microwave for a minute and let them stand for 5 minutes and they're amazing. I put in 1 tsp. of powder instead of the second tsp. of soda, doubled the cinnamon, added some salt and cloves, and an extra egg. Less white sugar. They are good cookies but not amazing, I will try another recipie next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I used the substitution suggestions on this recipe and LOVED the result. I used 1tsp each of baking soda and baking powder, I also used a bit of salt and I added a bit of nutmeg. Baked the cookies for about 11 minutes and Yum! I did not use the nuts, only because my son isn't a fan. But I think they would be even better with them. Also, I used whole wheat flour, which I use in all of my baking, and they turned out great and a bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Fairly good recipe. However, I followed each step, baked the cookies and then realized something important was missing! The Salt!!! The actual recipe mentions nothing about salt. In all my baking years I have only used UNSALTED butter. This good recipe needs an edit - 1 teaspoon of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I dislike it when a reviewer changes a recipe then rates it poorly. I would not rate this recipe poorly with or without my changes. I adopted all of Marilee's tips - 4 eggs, 1 tsp. each, baking powder/soda, 2 teaspoons cinnamon, and I added a quarter teaspoon allspice. These cookies have put a delectable aroma in my home and taste just as good. I also omitted the pecans because of nut issues (they're all nuts) and will use more raisins the next time. I subbed the white sugar for Splenda and did half white, half whole wheat flour. I have to please the diabetics. Really nice result. Warning: If you soak the raisins in the eggs, make sure you're good to go in an hour. I wasn't ready yesterday and the raisins turned into a gloppy mess overnight. I discarded them and started fresh today. Thanks Gerirein. These are excellent even when you cheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Followed the recipe too the "T" came out flat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Following some other reviewers suggestions I added some extra spices and couple other changes and these cookies had a great flavor. I didn't realize that they would harden as they cooled so I over baked them the first time and they ended up crispy but not burned. Still good just not what I was looking for. Second time I cooked them for way less time and they turned out better. Basically the time it lists is accurate but they won't seem done when you look at them. Pull 'em out anyway if you don't want them crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoJo_0424

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Made some of the changes suggested by other members, added my own glaze, and these where a smash hit! I see no reason to go in search of any other oatmeal raisin cookie recipes, this one got the job done...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I=Cookie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Best I have ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 600) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States