Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Outstanding. But read the reviews first. I cut out the white sugar and used 1 cup of coconut sugar, 1 tsp of cinnamon and reduced the baking soda to 1/2 tsp. Then added 1/2 tsp each of baking powder and 1/2 tsp of Bakewell Cream. Instead of butter I added 3/4 cup soft coconut oil. Instead of wheat flour I added 2/3 c tapioca flour and 2/3 c of oat flour. Next time a pinch of xanthan gum will help strengthen them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Pritchard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PattyCakes
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I've made these cookies many times. I love this recipe exactly the way it is. I have not had the problems other reviewers have had. These are not runny cookies at all. The only thing for me is I like to bake organic, so I buy organic bulk rolled oats & organic Thompson raisins in my local grocery store. I believe no matter what you are baking, quality ingredients are just as important as a great recipe. I use unbleached all purpose flour and have never had a problem, this cookie dough is always stiff and the cookies come out perfect every time. This will always be my go to for great oatmeal raisin cookies. Love them. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
First attempt at baking cookies and as oat meal and raisin cookies are my favorites I gave this a try!! Turned out very well just as it is written in this recipe - the whole family loved them including my one year old grand daughter. My husband said " don't change a thing"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
in orden to bake anything successfully you must first understand melting point and the tricky nature of butter. i tried this recipe and i must say, it is good but not the best. since i grew up cooking with coconut oil and coconut milk, butter has always been considered a flavor enhancer rather than a binding ingredient. also, whoever said egg whites was meant to be used in cookie recipes. blending the butter with a few tsp of coconut oil,coconut milk and nutmeg will eliminate problems associated with premature meltdown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I made two batches from this recipe. The first batch was made per the recipe. Wet ingredients were mixed with a hand mixer, dry ingredients were mixed by hand. They came out too crunchy and a bit bland for my liking. For the second batch, I added 1/2 cup applesauce, extra Cinnamon, a dash of Cloves and Allspice. These changes made the cookies much better, moister and more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
They were crumbles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Not good at all,my personal opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliana S. Holmes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
OMG I have tried so many recipes for Oatmeal cookies and these are definitely the best. I followed the recipe to the tee and they turned out nice and chewy but not flat. My husband had six right out of the oven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Osborne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Okay I know I'm not the first person to say this judging from all the wonderful reviews, but these cookies are great! So my first try in making these, they did in fact turn into flat UFO disks. I followed the recipe exactly how it said and I could taste that the flavor was there, but the puffiness was completely missing. Yesterday, I had craving for them and decided to give another whack at it. I used the advice from another fellow reviewer by cutting out some of the sugar (just half a cup of each), turning down my oven temp, and making sure to mix everything by HAND until it was just incorporated. Trust me, it made all the difference. They turned out chewy and delicious and (most importantly) PUFFY! I also added some walnuts to the mix this time and sprayed my pans really well with cooking spray to avoid sticking. Don't give in after the first try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Easy & delicious recipe that took virtually no time at all to make. For a healthier alternative, I substituted the butter for applesauce and reduced the sugar slightly to compensate for the extra sweetness. I also used all organic ingredients and an oil spray to grease my stainless steel cookie sheet. Turned out perfectly, slightly crunchy on the outside and soft and chewy on the inside! The only slight modification I will make next time is to soak the raisins as others have mentioned and possibly add some chocolate chips! 2 thumbs up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States