Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Great recipe! Used parchment paper. No problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cape Canaveral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This recipe was perfect. The "only" thing I really did differently was soak my raisins in hot water at the beginning for about 10 minutes. The cookies were chewy and not hard at all. After three days they still taste fresh. No more purchasing cookies from the local supermarket. I would highly recommend making this recipe. I was very hesitate after reading some reviews of the batter running while in the oven; however, using my amazing Kitchenaid mixer, made the recipe work like a charm. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I made these today exactly as written. If you like a flat/crisp cookie, than this one is for you. I like them, but my family likes a softer, chewier cookie. Good flavor and easy to make. I used a special "baking" raisin that is moister, so no soaking required as some members have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I was skeptical to make this because of some of the reviews but I made two batches. My boys and husband usually don't care what kind of cookies I make, just so long as I make them but now all they want are these oatmeal raisin cookies! I didn't change anything except doubled the recipe and now I am off to the kitchen to make them again. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
This recipe did not turn out well for me. Here is what I did: I followed recipe exactly except I doubled the vanilla extract and cinnamon. I initially creamed the butter and sugars by hand, but that didn't work so well, so I switched to a hand mixer. When it was time to mix in the flour mixture, I did that by hand, gradually pouring in a little at a time. I then placed the batter in the freezer for about 18 minutes. I did not waste anytime and then scooped out medium size balls onto a parchment lined baking sheet. I then baked the cookies in a 350-degree oven (I felt 375 was too hot), checking after 5 minutes. After the first 5 minutes, the cookies had spread quite a bit, but they were no where near done in the middle. So I baked them for 3 minutes longer and they were done, but flat as pancakes. I was so disappointed. I tasted them and thought they tasted good, but I'm giving this recipe one star because the shape of the cookies were just awful. I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Great recipe. I didn't have white sugar so I used all brown. Came out just as yummy but extra crunchy. Definitely making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
the temperature was too high and i added a bit more flour, it would be better at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
followed the recipe completely and it didn't come out good at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Best recipe I've ever come across... So far;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I love this recipe! I always get compliments on these cookies. I, like many other people, soak the raisins in hot water for at least 20 minutes prior to adding them into the batter so their nice and plump. If your cookies are coming out flat as pancakes, your butter is too warm. Don't melt it in the microwave and then throw it in your mixer. Bad idea. Let your butter get soft on our counter OR rotate turn the stick of butter on a different side every 4 seconds for 4 total rotations (sometimes it's a little less time depending on the microwave).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States