Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
First attempt at baking cookies and as oat meal and raisin cookies are my favorites I gave this a try!! Turned out very well just as it is written in this recipe - the whole family loved them including my one year old grand daughter. My husband said " don't change a thing"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
in orden to bake anything successfully you must first understand melting point and the tricky nature of butter. i tried this recipe and i must say, it is good but not the best. since i grew up cooking with coconut oil and coconut milk, butter has always been considered a flavor enhancer rather than a binding ingredient. also, whoever said egg whites was meant to be used in cookie recipes. blending the butter with a few tsp of coconut oil,coconut milk and nutmeg will eliminate problems associated with premature meltdown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I made two batches from this recipe. The first batch was made per the recipe. Wet ingredients were mixed with a hand mixer, dry ingredients were mixed by hand. They came out too crunchy and a bit bland for my liking. For the second batch, I added 1/2 cup applesauce, extra Cinnamon, a dash of Cloves and Allspice. These changes made the cookies much better, moister and more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
They were crumbles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Not good at all,my personal opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliana S. Holmes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
OMG I have tried so many recipes for Oatmeal cookies and these are definitely the best. I followed the recipe to the tee and they turned out nice and chewy but not flat. My husband had six right out of the oven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Osborne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Okay I know I'm not the first person to say this judging from all the wonderful reviews, but these cookies are great! So my first try in making these, they did in fact turn into flat UFO disks. I followed the recipe exactly how it said and I could taste that the flavor was there, but the puffiness was completely missing. Yesterday, I had craving for them and decided to give another whack at it. I used the advice from another fellow reviewer by cutting out some of the sugar (just half a cup of each), turning down my oven temp, and making sure to mix everything by HAND until it was just incorporated. Trust me, it made all the difference. They turned out chewy and delicious and (most importantly) PUFFY! I also added some walnuts to the mix this time and sprayed my pans really well with cooking spray to avoid sticking. Don't give in after the first try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Easy & delicious recipe that took virtually no time at all to make. For a healthier alternative, I substituted the butter for applesauce and reduced the sugar slightly to compensate for the extra sweetness. I also used all organic ingredients and an oil spray to grease my stainless steel cookie sheet. Turned out perfectly, slightly crunchy on the outside and soft and chewy on the inside! The only slight modification I will make next time is to soak the raisins as others have mentioned and possibly add some chocolate chips! 2 thumbs up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
We used old fashioned Quaker Oats and I think that may have been a mistake - they were super dry and oat-y if you know what I mean. I think Quick Cook oats may work better and next time we'll also soak the raisins in boiling water and use parchment paper on the pans - they were really hard to get off the pans without parchment paper. I'd try a totally different recipe next time. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Gaudette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by clcomeau
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
My family loved them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States