Oatmeal Pudding Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
this is the best oatmeal cookie recipe i've found so far. the only modification i made was to reduce the rolled oats to 2 1/2 cups because the batter was getting quite thick and dry. the cookies were chewy and had a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlotte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulare, California, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
I LOVE these cookies!! I do not enjoy the spice-flavored oatmeal cookies, but THESE have become my favorite! I've been making these cookies for over a year. The secret is in the pudding. If you use bland pudding, you'll get bland cookies. I usually use french vanilla (or something similarly named) pudding, and sometimes I'll even use vanilla sugar instead of the white sugar. I also plump the raisins in warm water (or rum(!) while I'm mixing the batter, but my favorite is to forget the raisins all together and add 1 cup of chocolate chips. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by (ME)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
These were very easy and turned out great. Cookies never turn out properly for me, but these turned out great. I subsituted unsweetened applesauce for 90% of the butter and added a little oil. I think the substitution made my cookies more cake-like than regular cookies, but I don't mind that at all. I also cut out the extra 1/4 cup of white sugar and they still turned out quite sweet because of the pudding mix. I like my cookies chewy, so I used slow cooking oats. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
Very good cookies. I have made them over and over. They are even better when spices (as described by another reviewer previously) are added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
I thought these were very good but just a little dry and needed a little more flavor. Next time, I will cut back a little on the oats and definitely add some vanilla. Some spices would be a nice addition. The pudding is definitely a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
I thought the recipe looked a little bland, so I added some spices from another recipe on this site (2 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp allspice, 1 tsp cloves), and the results were delicious and the aromas were heavenly. Made half with raisin/walnuts and half with chocolate chips. I made about 50 cookies from this recipe, so they were fairly large, and were nice and moist, but firm enough to store without breaking up. Cooled them right on the pans and popped them into Zipper bags.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
I use this as a base for my M&M cookies. They are always very chewy. Usually I add plain M&Ms, Skor bits, and chopped walnuts. Sometimes I cut back on the oats. Depends on how dry the mix feels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
We thought these were pretty flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
Fantastic recipe!!! I added some sugar to the top before I baked them and they were even more delicious!! My mother, who is not a cookie lover, adored these cookies!!! Thanks so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
Yummy! I like the versatility of the pudding mix. I used butterscotch pudding this time, and next time I'll try coconut. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States