Oatmeal Pudding Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
very good, although i made a few changes. i didn't have butter-flavored shortening, so i just used butter. per other reviews, i also used butterscotch pudding to help with the flavor, and added chocolate chips instead of raisins. they didn't spread in the oven very much at all, wish i'd known that beforehand so i could've spaced them a little closer together :) next time i'll probably flatten them a bit before baking. i wound up baking mine for about 18miuntes...i couldn't really tell whether they were done or not at the 12minute mark, so i kept checking periodically. delicious right out of the oven, and still nice and chewy once they've cooled. different than your average oatmeal cookie...i'll hold onto the recipe to pull out occasionally, but i think i'll keep looking for my go-to oatmeal cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justginster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
These cookies are the Best oatmeal cookies I have ever made. Very chewy and loved by all. I used butterscotch pudding, and cause I have a house of really sweet tooths and I wanted to try something I only used 1/2 cup bs, and 1/4 whith sugar and added 1 cup butterscotch morsels. sweet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
These were very good, wished we could have given it a 4.5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Imperial, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by monica
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This was a great cookie recipe. I changed it a bit. I used banana pudding mix and chocolate chips instead of rasins. My son loved them we do cooking projects and he had fun making them to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
GREAT Recipe! So chewy and tasty! I make mine a little healthier, and they are still wonderful-my kids love them! I use 50/50 flour- half white and half whole wheat flour- you cannot even tell! I also use about a tablespoon of milled flaxseed, a dash or two of cinnamon, and about half a teaspoon of pure vanilla flavoring. I stopped searching for any other oatmeal cookie recipe-these are marvelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Makes a nice traditional oatmeal raisin cookie. I love the addition of pudding! I added cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves for spices in addition to 1 tsp of vanilla. Also, I put the 1 cup raisins in a microwave safe bowl and added some water (enough to cover the raisins) and microwaved for 1:30-2 minutes on 70% power to help plump up the raisins. I drained the liquid from the raisins and added the plumped raisins to the mix. Thanks for the recipe it is very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This is a very moist cookie but I was disappointed in the lack of flavor. I may try it again with some added ingredients such as cinnamon, apple pie spice, nutmeg, etc. I could see it being very moist AND flavorful! It has potential...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I was looking for a different recipe from the Quaker Oatmeal cookie recipe. I liked that this had instant vanilla pudding. I didn't have butter flavored shortening so I added a 1/2 tsp. butter flavoring to the shortening. I also added a tsp. of pumpkin pie spice and used a dried cranberry/spiced apple mix, to change it up from the usual raisins. I also added a tsp. of vanilla flavoring. It was really a dry cookie dough. I had to wet my hands to get the dough to stick together, as I refrigerated it to make the next day with my son. I didn't read the reviews beforehand so if I make these again, I'll reduce the oats back a cup. It smells incredible when cooking. It's tasty, but as is, it has too much oatmeal and is too dry. I liked the dried apples/cranberries in this recipe, I'll do that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Delicious! The pudding mix adds a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Very good! I have been searching for a recipe similar to my husband's grandmother's recipe, and this is pretty close. I double the raisins and soak in hot water while preparing the rest of the dough. Use the recommended 2 1/2 cups of dough and add nutmeg and a dash of allspice. I portion out these cookies (as I do almost all cookies) and freeze them, then I can take out 5 or 6 and bake when I want fresh cookies. Just be sure to flatten them before freezing. I will try with chocolate chips next time! UPDATE - Just remembered this recipe and made it with butter, 1/2 splenda, whole wheat flour, 1 cup of white / dark chocolate chips and fresh cranberries - WOW!!! It was AMAZING! I will flatten the cookies halfway through baking though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States