Oatmeal Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I made the chocolate version but this pie was nothing like a pecan pie, no gooey layer, the oatmeal soaked it all up and didn't form a crust on top like the pecans do in a pecan pie which is what I was looking for. Flavor was was blah; no one wanted to eat a second piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This is pretty good, but I don't think it tastes like pecan pie. I was a bit concerned that it would be too sweet, so I did cut the white sugar back to 1/3 cup. It is an interesting idea and I may make it again, possiblt with the chocolate changes. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I would give this 5 stars, but I'm the only one who liked it at Thanksgiving! I think it's delicious and a great option when you want pecan pie, but don't have any pecans - my mother and aunt didn't agree, however. They didn't like it at all. Normally that would be enough to make me give it a 3, but I liked it enough for all of us. :) Edited to add: I made this for another party I went to and everyone LOVED it. So I'm ignoring my family's rating, and going with 5 stars. My friend who's allergic to pecans loved this as an alternative to pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I made the chocolate version of this pie. It was tasty, but not exactly what I was hoping for. This one was almost like a moist brownie in a pie shell. I was hoping for something that was gooey in the middle and crusty on top. I've had one like that before, but this wasn't it. I may try making the regular version of this pie and see if it turns out better than the chocolate version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LadySparkle
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This was AWESOME!! I added 1/3 c. brown sugar, and 1 tsp vanilla, decreased cloves to 1/4 tsp. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This was pretty good, and a novelty for me. I'd never heard of oatmeal pie before, and with 5 different recipes on this site, I guess it's a popular regional item somewhere. I made the recipe exactly as written. I did use a store-bought graham cracker crust, and the corn syrup was "with real vanilla" (I've only used corn syrup once before - perhaps it usually comes with vanilla, but I notice a number of previous reviewers added their own vanilla). I baked the pie for exactly one hour, at which time it passed the knife test. It's pretty rich and gooey - I made the 8 slices last for 7 days. It's quite good - I told friends it's a bit like a gooey oatmeal-raisin cookie, minus the raisins, in a pie form. I imagine the chocolate version tastes awesome; perhaps I'll make that soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TasteKing
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I decided to forego the cloves and cinnamon and add the 1/4 cup cocoa powder and 1 cup of pecan halves along with the oatmeal. This was a huge success. The pie tastes like a cross between a brownie and a pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TasteKing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mccomb, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Summit, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I thought this recipe was nothing like the oatmeal pie I have enjoyed at Mondo's in Iowa City. The filling was too eggy and a little too runny. I took out one egg 1/4 c. of the corn syrup and then added 1/4 c. of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I like this pie. I did 1/2 the sugar called for white and the other half brown, added only 1/4 tsp cloves and added 1 tps vanilla. It was very good. I covered my crust with foil for the whole hour bake time and it was still dark brown. Tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Very good - my kids loved it. I think there is a bit too much cloves in it. . . before baking it, the smell of cloves really overwhelmed everything. But after it was baked, it wasn't AS strong. Even so, I think I would still cut the cloves to 1/4 tsp. I baked mine in a tart pan and it looked beautiful. I'm guessing if it was baked in a regular pie plate it would be on the thin side because my tart was very thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States