Oatmeal Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I have been using recipes from this site for a while now; and have never registered or joined. However, after having made this pie, I just had to. Oh my gosh.....how fabulous is this pie?!! Perfect with Basic Flaky Pie crust recipe (using butter flavor crisco) So simple and so delicious! By the way....this is a great recipe for when you start out making a pecan pie, and discover (in the middle of mixing ingredients) that you do not have any pecans. This is such an easy pie...if you've never tried to bake a pie....try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I thought this was very good and very easy to put together. As someone else said, it kind of reminded me of pecan pie without the pecans. I made it in a butter cookie crust (recipe on this website).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
A friend made this for me after my baby was born. She brought over dinner and this pie for dessert. I ate the pie first, it looked just like pecan pie and I love pecan pie. My husband loved it, too, and asked me to get the recipe. I was shocked to learn it was an oatmeal pie. It's heavenly. I made it for an early Thanksgiving family feast and it was gone even before the pumpkin pies were! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This is a charming little keeper! Melt the butter in a glass mixing bowl, then add the Karo, brown sugar, coconut, and oatmeal before the eggs. This way your eggs won't come into direct contact with the melted butter. I added 1/4 t salt, used a hand mixer just because, and covered the crust with a pie shield after 30-35 minutes. This is easy to transport, too. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Excellent pie, very similar to Pecan Pie but with a slightly different taste and texture. Good in its own right. However, a few comments: 1. I agree that the timing in the original recipe is off. Like that of another poster, my oven is accurately calibrated (checked it today with an infrared thermometer). I found that after 45 minutes at 325 degrees, the pie was not nearly done as the center was almost liquid. It was much better after 60 minutes, although still a bit soft. I suggest you cook the pie for 60 minutes AR 325, or perhaps 45 minutes at 350 (which is what most pecan pie recipes specify). 2. Regular rolled oats work fine; no need to use quick-cooking oats. 3. A teaspoon of vanilla might be a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RDCollins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hermosa Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
People love this pie - it's amazing how fast this ones goes when most people have never heard of an Oatmeal Pie. And it's so easy to make. I use the frozen deep dish pie shells, which makes this so quick to make as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Excellent pie. I ended up cooking it for over an hour and probably should have cooked it a little longer since the pir was still a little gooey in the middle. Would recommend cooking for 1 hr. 20 min. Also, I added 1.5 cups of semi sweet chocolate chips. Next time I will only add 1 cup, but it was an excellent addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This was one of the best pies I have ever tasted. My husband asked me for any kind of pie (after watching the movie "the Waitress") and this is the pie I made him. He ate half of it in one sitting!! I will make this again!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
My mother-in-law gave me this recipe over 40 years ago. It is a family favorite. The only thing I change is to add a teaspoon of vanilla. Just gives it a little more yummy flavor. You can't go wrong with this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Sand Springs, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ellen Ohlde
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This pie was incredibly easy to make . What is nice about this pie is there is no need for spices. Its flavor is comprised entirely of the ingredients. I did not use salt at all and I reduced the baking time by 5 minutes. This gave the pie a softer texture inside which we prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redmond, Oregon, USA
Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States