Oatmeal Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This pie is excellent. I did not use a normal pie crust. I took a dozen homemade oatmeal cookies and put them into the food processor and turned them into crumbs. I added a stick of room temperature real butter and a pinch of salt and used this for my crust, pressing it into my pie dish then added the filling and baking all at once. It was soooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I just recently returned from the Pennsylvania Dutch country and tried oatmeal pie, there, for the first time. I couldnt wait to try to make it at home. It is super easy, especially if you use a ready made pie crust, and delicious. This recipe is perfect. I added vanilla but I always add extra vanilla to baked goods. Make sure you cook it long enough so the top crisps up a bit. It really is reminiscent of pecan pie w a hint of coconut. Don't omit the coconut. It really adds depth to the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I cooked this for a little over an hour, after 45 mins, I covered the crust that was starting to burn. I craved for chocolate, and put some morsels in it. It was a hit, I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Much too sweet for our taste; not wild about the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
yum, yum, yum! you must try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
My mother-in-law gave me this recipe over 40 years ago. It is a family favorite. The only thing I change is to add a teaspoon of vanilla. Just gives it a little more yummy flavor. You can't go wrong with this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Sand Springs, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Wow! It was amazing! I had a lot of oatmeal in my house that I wanted to use up, so I decided to give this recipe a try and it turned out so, so good. Not to sweet, not bland, just perfect. I did have to to bake for about 1h 15mins, but other then that, it was great. I also used a combination of light and dark corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Fantastic flavor! I used 4 egg whites instead of two whole eggs, and I decreased the amount of corn syrup to about 1/2 a cup. I also used margarine instead of butter. It was fantastic! The baking time is not accurate on the recipe; mine took close to an hour to get done. I used two mini-pans instead of one 9 inch pan but they still baked well. Delicious recipe - all my friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Excellent pie, very similar to Pecan Pie but with a slightly different taste and texture. Good in its own right. However, a few comments: 1. I agree that the timing in the original recipe is off. Like that of another poster, my oven is accurately calibrated (checked it today with an infrared thermometer). I found that after 45 minutes at 325 degrees, the pie was not nearly done as the center was almost liquid. It was much better after 60 minutes, although still a bit soft. I suggest you cook the pie for 60 minutes AR 325, or perhaps 45 minutes at 350 (which is what most pecan pie recipes specify). 2. Regular rolled oats work fine; no need to use quick-cooking oats. 3. A teaspoon of vanilla might be a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RDCollins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hermosa Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Excellent pie. I ended up cooking it for over an hour and probably should have cooked it a little longer since the pir was still a little gooey in the middle. Would recommend cooking for 1 hr. 20 min. Also, I added 1.5 cups of semi sweet chocolate chips. Next time I will only add 1 cup, but it was an excellent addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States