Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Definitely a kid pleasing recipe :)I even tried subbing coconut oil to replace the shortening, which worked well, even with the subtle coconut flavor. Great recipe, dough freezes well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I and everyone I gave these to loved them. I used all butter because that's all I had. I also added 2 teaspoons of vanilla. I reduced the sugar by half a cup and used 1 cup of chopped peanuts and half & half crunchy and creamy PB. Added 1/2 cup more oats too. So, yeah I'm being one of those people who fiddle then review. I think that the basic recipe is ideal for experimental changes. One thing to note is that the recipe gave little directions for the end. I found that pulling 2 T balls of dough size cookies out at 10 minutes, when they're golden on the edges and a little the tops and letting them rest for 3-5 min on the pan allowed them to set perfectly. And still be chewy in the middle a little crisp on the edge. 9 minutes baking with 3 min setting up still on the cookie sheet resulted in a more chewy and tender pb cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikolette T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Tried making these using the drop method as per instructions. Then switched tactics and rolled the dough into small balls and then in sugar before baking. Liked these better. Were just a tad too dry, so don't add additional oatmeal. I rolled mine in red sugar as I plan on sending these to grandkids for Valentine's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Pretty good. Next time I think I will add some vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I suggest adding chocolate chips. They make them better, but they are already good enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
So initially these were not great. BUT after cooling and firming up a little they are awesome. Even better the next days which I have never said about a cookie. We did half with mini semi sweet chips, half without. I prefer without but I am not a chocolate lover. Cooking longer made them better too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kabee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Really good! I found them to be a bit too sweet, so if you want use a tad less sugar. Also, one cup of oats isn't enough to make them noticeable! If you add 2 cups instead you get the texture and the flavor coming through much more prominently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I've never liked peanut butter cookies, but these were good. I didn't give it 5 stars because I made all the modifications that ZJSGRAM suggested: butter-not margarine, extra flour-1/4 cup, add 1 tsp vanilla, butter flavored Crisco-not regular shortening, 1 cup chunky peanut butter and 1/2 cup creamy pb, extra 1/2 cup of oats added and 2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips. I cooked them for 11 minutes and that was perfect. I rolled the cookies into 2 inch balls and then partially flattened them. It made 52 large cookies, so the cookies in this recipe had to be pretty small, considering all the extra ingredients I added. I think ZJSGRAM should publish this recipe as her own with all the good modifications. I understood that only one change to a recipe made it yours. Do try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamala

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Columbia, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
These were sooo very good. I used all butter and added 1/2 bag mini chocolate chips. The dough seemed a little soft so I added a little more oats. They were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
very good. This is a perfect, not so sweet, crisp cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,716) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States