Oatmeal Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
If I could rate this recipe higher, I would ! They were so tasty! My DH and I made these for breakfast for our family this morning and the end result was so good. We doubled the recipe and it made 11 pancakes (using 1/3 cup as a measuring tool). The only thing we changes was to use whole milk instead of buttermilk (we didn't have any on hand); we used 2 Tbsp of sugar and about 1/2 tsp salt. My DH suggested that next time we should use brown sugar for added flavour, and I agree. I also think that a bit of cinnamon would go a long way in this recipe. For an added twist, I expect that I will also add some mashed banana or raisins at some point when I make these again as I expect they will become a regular occurrence in our house. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
These pancakes were very very good! I did add 1/4 cup of ground flax seed for more fiber and 1 tsp. of cinnamon and 1/4 cup of brown sugar (omitted the white sugar). I tripled the recipe because I fed 4 people and my youngest som loves pancakes for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
I give them a five star because I used skim milk instead of buttermilk and at first the batter was very thin, but the pancakes turned out so fluffy! If they are fluffy with skim milk imagine what they'd be with buttermilk or whole milk. I added mashed banana to the batter and it was good, but I think I'll just have it was cut up banana on top. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Perfect! My kids did not even notice the oatmeal. This is a good way to help keep your heart healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThoseCrazySims

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
These pancakes were really delightful. I used wheat flour instead of all-purpose, and they still turned out great. We ate them with butter and preserves - yum. My husband (who doesn't really like pancakes) asked me to make these again before we were even finished with the meal :D *After many months of enjoying these, I think the best feature is how tasty they are without being sweet, which is my husband's complaint with most other pancakes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Elhardt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yucaipa, California, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
great recipe----I tried it today using 1% milk and it turned out fine----great for a cold winter day :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: St. Marys, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
these turn out extremely light and fluffy and are excellent! i usually modify the recipe for 2, and it works wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilymaria518

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Amazing - I wouldn't change a thing. I'm from the south and these are exactly the same as our favorite restaurant if not better! Everyone should try this recipe! Just be sure to give them a good coating of the breading!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cafe mocha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emmanuelle
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I tried it without much expectation and It was fabulous. I will never make regular pancakes again !!! Thx for this great recipe. I made those again this morning and added a pinch of cinnamon to the batter as a reviewer suggested and it was even more delicious. This recipe really is a keeper !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmanuelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Les Ulis, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Mmmmmmm...Delicious. I must say though that I did change a couple things. Only had old-fashioned oats, vegetable oil instead of butter, added a pinch of cinnamon, little extra baking powder, little brown sugar, and about 2 tbls. sour cream to skim milk since we had no buttermilk. Very yummy with blueberries. Thank you for a healthier alternative to regular pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimminash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States