Oatmeal Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
these are a really nice change from ordinary pancakes, and quite delicious too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
I give them a five star because I used skim milk instead of buttermilk and at first the batter was very thin, but the pancakes turned out so fluffy! If they are fluffy with skim milk imagine what they'd be with buttermilk or whole milk. I added mashed banana to the batter and it was good, but I think I'll just have it was cut up banana on top. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Perfect! My kids did not even notice the oatmeal. This is a good way to help keep your heart healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThoseCrazySims

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
I made these pancakes substituting one pack of the Weight Control instant oatmeal in maple & brown sugar, eliminated the sugar, used 2% milk, and reduced to just two tablespoons of melted butter. The batter was thin at first but thickened nicely after resting for about 10 minutes. The pancakes were delicious! Moist, fluffy, and with a wonderful oatmeal flavor. Next time I think I will add 1/4 tsp of salt to balance the flavors, but overall this recipe's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
These pancakes had a nice light and fluffy texture. I like recipes that use buttermilk. The oats were a nice touch too. I used a little less butter. Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
If I could rate this recipe higher, I would ! They were so tasty! My DH and I made these for breakfast for our family this morning and the end result was so good. We doubled the recipe and it made 11 pancakes (using 1/3 cup as a measuring tool). The only thing we changes was to use whole milk instead of buttermilk (we didn't have any on hand); we used 2 Tbsp of sugar and about 1/2 tsp salt. My DH suggested that next time we should use brown sugar for added flavour, and I agree. I also think that a bit of cinnamon would go a long way in this recipe. For an added twist, I expect that I will also add some mashed banana or raisins at some point when I make these again as I expect they will become a regular occurrence in our house. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
These pancakes were really delightful. I used wheat flour instead of all-purpose, and they still turned out great. We ate them with butter and preserves - yum. My husband (who doesn't really like pancakes) asked me to make these again before we were even finished with the meal :D *After many months of enjoying these, I think the best feature is how tasty they are without being sweet, which is my husband's complaint with most other pancakes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Elhardt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yucaipa, California, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This gets 4 stars with the changes that I made. The changes I made were: used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose, added cinnamon, added walnuts and added about a 1/4 tsp of salt. This was a very nutty, hearty, and delicious pancake but don't forget to add the salt to help bring out all the flavors otherwise it will be a very plain and boring pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I loved this recipe!! i substituted whole flour for the all-purpose flour and fat-free milk because i didn't have any buttermilk & instead of adding 1 tsp sugar i added 1 tbls and i also added a tbls of brown sugar. I put in 1/4 salt and 1 tsp cinnamon and 1 whole mashed banana, it was delicious my whole family loved it! i also sprinkled a few raisins in too =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
great recipe----I tried it today using 1% milk and it turned out fine----great for a cold winter day :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: St. Marys, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States