Oatmeal Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
The Best Pancakes. Hearty and dense. Goes great with the Buttermilk syrup from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Margate, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Very filling. I used whole wheat flour, and only two tablespoons of butter (all I had left). This recipe could definitely benefit from some salt, as it is just a touch bland, and a little cinnamon never hurt any pancake. A good place to start, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendive, Montana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I am soooo impressed with these pancakes, they are delicious! I find that with most other oatmeal pancake recipes the batter becomes far too thick and difficult to form into thin pancakes. This recipe however was perfect; the batter was the perfect consistency and the pancakes turned out great. I tried substituting half the liquid with 7-up as I saw on a cooking show and it helped make them wonderfully fluffy! I will most definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
My batter was really runny, so I had to add more oats & ww pastry flour. Good. Even better with pecans & blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
My only change was using Old Fashioned Quaker oats (it's all I buy). These are excellent! Taste, texture, everything. I have no complaints nor would I make any changes. This is my new go to pancake recipe! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This recipe was a total surprise to me. I followed the directions and thought the mixture would be a total flop, as it appeared to be thick and on the dry side. However, the results were delicious. The pancakes themselves were very tasty and satisfying. With a dab of honey on top, I would rate these as one of my current favorites. I have not made anything with buttermilk in a while. I will make them again... and possibly again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I used 1% Lactaid milk in place of the buttermilk, and margarine in place of the butter. I also changed the sugar to 1 tablespoon and used brown sugar as suggested here by other commenters. Wonderful, and so hearty! They aren't too fluffy, either, which is a pet peeve of mine when it comes to pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I love these. My new favorite way to make pancakes. Very tasty and feels like more of a breakfast than just regular pancakes. I add about a tablespoon of brown sugar for a little sweetness. They do take a little longer to cook than regular pancakes so test one before you pull them off the griddle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Mmmmmmm...Delicious. I must say though that I did change a couple things. Only had old-fashioned oats, vegetable oil instead of butter, added a pinch of cinnamon, little extra baking powder, little brown sugar, and about 2 tbls. sour cream to skim milk since we had no buttermilk. Very yummy with blueberries. Thank you for a healthier alternative to regular pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimminash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
These were really disappointing. First off, that was WAY too much buttermilk. I had to add more flour. They were bland and had no taste. I will not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States