Oatmeal Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
I give them a five star because I used skim milk instead of buttermilk and at first the batter was very thin, but the pancakes turned out so fluffy! If they are fluffy with skim milk imagine what they'd be with buttermilk or whole milk. I added mashed banana to the batter and it was good, but I think I'll just have it was cut up banana on top. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Hearty. I added a small amount of brown sugar, a few dashes of cinnamon and a teaspoon of ground flaxseed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I found this recipe here when I couldn't find my recipe for Oatmeal Pancakes. This recipe was...tasty but it seemed like there was something missing. It made seven medium pancakes which was just enough for my husband and two sons. The buttermilk was a nice touch (I soured whole milk with vinegar, as buttermilk is a little pricey for a one time use.) and I added a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice and a 1/4 tsp. of salt. My husband mentioned that it would be more like apple cinnamon oatmeal with chopped apples, so I plan on adding some next time that have been tossed with a sugar/cinnamon mixture. I plan on working with this a couple more times to suit my family's tastes. Good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
If I could rate this recipe higher, I would ! They were so tasty! My DH and I made these for breakfast for our family this morning and the end result was so good. We doubled the recipe and it made 11 pancakes (using 1/3 cup as a measuring tool). The only thing we changes was to use whole milk instead of buttermilk (we didn't have any on hand); we used 2 Tbsp of sugar and about 1/2 tsp salt. My DH suggested that next time we should use brown sugar for added flavour, and I agree. I also think that a bit of cinnamon would go a long way in this recipe. For an added twist, I expect that I will also add some mashed banana or raisins at some point when I make these again as I expect they will become a regular occurrence in our house. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
These pancakes were really delightful. I used wheat flour instead of all-purpose, and they still turned out great. We ate them with butter and preserves - yum. My husband (who doesn't really like pancakes) asked me to make these again before we were even finished with the meal :D *After many months of enjoying these, I think the best feature is how tasty they are without being sweet, which is my husband's complaint with most other pancakes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Elhardt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yucaipa, California, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
With Diabetes in the household and a gastric bypass - I'm looking for complex carb turnarounds of solid favorites. Like others, I used a stone ground whole wheat flour, 1/4 teaspoon salt - and more sugar -- except that we are a splenda household these days - so I substituted straight splenda for the white sugar (2 Tablespoons) and 1 1/2 teaspoons of the splenda brown sugar blend. (equivelent of 1 Tablespoon of regular br. sugar) I also added a half dead banana that was in need of a purpose. With the addition of the banana - I quickly discovered that it needed a serious boost in leavening -- and added a half teaspoon of baking powder as well as the soda already in the recipe. We like our pancakes light and fluffy. This did the trick. Topped with some sugar free syrup - and Log Cabin seems to have the best flavor - it was a healthy makeover. Also, I recommend to everyone - keep buttermilk in the house. When it's called for, even sour milk doesn't quite give the recipe the same kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Mmmmmmm...Delicious. I must say though that I did change a couple things. Only had old-fashioned oats, vegetable oil instead of butter, added a pinch of cinnamon, little extra baking powder, little brown sugar, and about 2 tbls. sour cream to skim milk since we had no buttermilk. Very yummy with blueberries. Thank you for a healthier alternative to regular pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimminash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emmanuelle
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I tried it without much expectation and It was fabulous. I will never make regular pancakes again !!! Thx for this great recipe. I made those again this morning and added a pinch of cinnamon to the batter as a reviewer suggested and it was even more delicious. This recipe really is a keeper !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmanuelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Les Ulis, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This gets 4 stars with the changes that I made. The changes I made were: used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose, added cinnamon, added walnuts and added about a 1/4 tsp of salt. This was a very nutty, hearty, and delicious pancake but don't forget to add the salt to help bring out all the flavors otherwise it will be a very plain and boring pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I loved this recipe!! i substituted whole flour for the all-purpose flour and fat-free milk because i didn't have any buttermilk & instead of adding 1 tsp sugar i added 1 tbls and i also added a tbls of brown sugar. I put in 1/4 salt and 1 tsp cinnamon and 1 whole mashed banana, it was delicious my whole family loved it! i also sprinkled a few raisins in too =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States